Humana Rock'n'Roll - Southwest USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona
January 20th 2019
Published: February 8th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Southwest USA

There are better maps.

Humana Rock'n'Roll Marathon (Phoenix to Mesa)Humana Rock'n'Roll Marathon (Phoenix to Mesa)Humana Rock'n'Roll Marathon (Phoenix to Mesa)

The sun made it little difficult. :)
I was leaving Michigan in freezing temperature conditions. As it turned out later right in time. The thermometers recorded -20F while I was gone, which is rare. Roads were icy and covered with fresh downfall of snow. Quiet normal this time of a year in this part of the world. Flight took some three hours. I was looking forward to this what I like to call "getaway retreat". Most folks do know the pleasant feeling that occurs when you get from cold and cloudy to a warm and sunny weather. Spirit and other domestic airlines offer great deals these days.

The spark was to visit family I've not seen for 10 years and also run the Humana Rock'n'Roll Marathon. It is customary for me though to take full benefit of the fact of being somewhere else. Well before the trip I try to prepare. I get familiar with the map, read, buy necessary equipment etc. The exploration is then way more effective. So, after I was done with the marathon I headed North towards Page, which is very close to Utah. The plan for that day was to take a quick peak at the Horseshoe Bend and also check out the Antelope Canyon. As I was driving I did enjoy Indian paintings on random buildings along the way. Usually they represented Indian faces or animals such as eagle or buffalo.

Both of the spots were fine and evidently attracted a lot of tourists with cameras. To me that kind of venues are automatically loosing their value. It's just too commercial even for Martin Luther King's Monday. Anyhow I'm attaching few pictures that will reflect the beauty of the nature best. Antelope Canyon tours are serviced by Navajo tribe. They are quiet crafty and organized with that. For $50 they'll drive you to the Canyon with their truck not minding the speed much on the bumpy off road. It's kinda like a roller coaster 😊. Then they'll advise you how to set up your phone so that the pictures come out best. And of course they'll show you rock formation reminding of familiar shapes such as heart, eye, human face etc., which is interesting.

Next I drove East to Cortez in Colorado, a small city that's laid out only hour and a half from Telluride, which was my real destination. The intention was to slide on the snow for a couple of days. As I was approaching Cortez I've noticed an immediate weather change. There was a heavy snow fall and the temperature drop. The next morning as soon as I woke up and ate an express breakfast at Holiday Inn Express I've hit the road heading even further North. Roads were extremely slippery after a fresh damp of snow and the rental did not take it well. I managed to make it without the chains. Btw. FYI chains are mandatory to use after you pass a certain point when you try to reach Telluride form the South.

It was worth it. Even though the lift tickets were expensive as hell the weather conditions and the fresh powder compensated for everything. Next couple of day was pure fun reminding me how to be a happy kid again. And as usual I started thinking of moving, living there 😊. Colorado for sure is one of the best states if not the best in my book.

As you may have heard already President Trump is trying to build the wall on the border with Mexico. He's struggling though since the democratic Congress is not cooperating. Hence he decided to suspend the administrative funds. That means that Americans working in administrative sector are basically not getting paid for over a month now. I think recently he withdrew the order for like three weeks, but it is not over. I wonder how it will end 😊? In any case the frozen funds reflected on the National Parks operation. Basically they are all closed except those that are serviced by Natives. I had a good occasion to verify that personally when trying to visit Mesa Verde that is in a vicinity of Cortez. Mesa Verde is famous of Indian cliff dwellings. All I can say is that I gave it a try not making it. Hence, it is still on my list! 😉

A small taste of a similar attraction I got to experience further along the way. In about three or so hours I've reached Chinle, where I've stayed overnight. This was already strictly Indian land and the target was Canyon De Chelly National Monument. Very deserted spot at this time of a year, which by no means didn't lessened the charm. I've met Navajo Indians trying to sell artistic goods. They are good artists I think but yet they still remain poor. I guess they still did not fully adapt and develop that business streak, gut or however you want to call it, which is making them quiet unique in United States.

After about three hrs. spent at De Chelly I decided to move on West and drive through the center of the Hopi Indian Nation Reservation. When overcoming miles in Arizona you can't help the impression of how vast the land is. There's just a lot of desert space, and you're like WOW! Small villages passed by on a way give you a sense of poverty that contrasts with the superstitious concept of America. Indians seem to be quiet down to earth people. Hopi in their native language means 'peaceful people'. It seems they are living their simple lives in accordance with the nature without chasing the wind. What's also worth noticing is that on the entire 150 000 square miles of Indian land there is absolutely no way you can acquire and alcoholic beverage any more. I guess it must have become a problem at some point and their officials decided to announce a complete prohibition. I think you can bring your own though 😊.

A very nice not too tall Indian clerk at the Holiday Inn in Chinle mentioned a place close to Tuba City where you can actually see dinosaurs footprints 😊. Naturally she erected my curiosity and I decided then that this will be my next destination. After reaching Tuba City and stopping at a local souvenir store I had a brief conversation with an old Indian. I found out that the guy who was organizing the tours quit. But it turned out the place was close to the road, hence I decided to explore on my own. For a good half and hour or so I was roaming the area and as I was ready to finally give up on that when all of the sudden I found it! A dino footprint! Then I found one more. The evidence is on on of the picture. Check it out! 😊

Since I still had a day left before flying back home I decided to visit the Grand Canyon once again. I found, that for some reason Grand Canyon, regardless the government restrictions was also operational. Well, actually only South Rim was. In the dark I arrived and naively thought that it'll
Telluride CoTelluride CoTelluride Co

Near Palmira Peak, little above 13000 ft./4000 m.
be a good idea to spend the night in the car on the parking lot close to the trail head. Several layers of clothing turned out to be useless when the temperature dropped to 23 degrees Fahrenheit. I know, it's not that cold but have you ever tried to take a nap in those conditions? It's all right when you have a good sleeping bag, but there was no sleeping bag. I gave up and got that hotel, which was a damn good decision considering the physical challenge I planned for the next day.

In the morning I hit the Bright Angel Trail not taking much with me. Just enough supply of water and some food. Instead of walking I decided to run. the top parts of the trail are usually covered with ice in January. The trick is that when you run you make sure you watch your steps, make them short and firm. You should be all right then. Well I didn't trip once so I guess it works. After 10 miles or so I was by the Suspension Bridge. It was about lunch time so I ate my banana, took few pics, spoke to a couple
Telluride CoTelluride CoTelluride Co

Nutcrackers getting friendly. :)
of young lost students and went right on up the Kaibab Trail. Now, that was uphill so running didn't work any more 😊. Surprisingly there were couple of guys passing me by running and again I was like WOW! In any case the entire stretch which was about 16 miles took me about 4 hrs and 15 min., which I recon is not terrible, considering I'm new at this. Mountain running is rather strenuous and it definitely demands some practice.

In the end I was happy I made it. Meal tasted great and with a big smile on my face if headed back over to Phoenix. Again, the abrupt striking climate change hit me. You don't have to drive too far to experience a significant difference in temperature there. It's quiet surprising. In any case, thanks for reading! I hope you enjoyed it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Telluride AzTelluride Az
Telluride Az

Extreme!!
Hopi Nation Reservation AzHopi Nation Reservation Az
Hopi Nation Reservation Az

Residential building.
Tuba City AzTuba City Az
Tuba City Az

I'm not lying!
Tuba City AzTuba City Az
Tuba City Az

Dino tracker. :)
Tuba City AzTuba City Az
Tuba City Az

Another one!
Grand Canyon AzGrand Canyon Az
Grand Canyon Az

A big cow.
Grand Canyon AzGrand Canyon Az
Grand Canyon Az

Lunch break by the Colorado River.
Grand Canyon AzGrand Canyon Az
Grand Canyon Az

Suspended Bridge, one of the two.
Grand Canyon AzGrand Canyon Az
Grand Canyon Az

Nice view.
Grand Canyon AzGrand Canyon Az
Grand Canyon Az

Another nice view, panoramic eh?


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.041s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb