Off to Dallas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Winslow
June 16th 2009
Published: June 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I wrote this last night but then had no internet service at the rest stop.
Having driven for about 15 hours it is 12:30am Tues which finds us at the rest stop at the Arizona/New Mexico border.
After driving for about 20 minutes from home I saw Justin’s pillow and remembered mine sitting on my bed at home safe and sound. I decided that I would not go back but would use one of the foofoo ones in the RV for now. If we get to go on to a job then I’ll just buy a new one.
We drove first to Lancaster to see my mom who I haven’t seen since prior to China. We met at In-n-Out Burger which is close to her house. I decided to park in their lot instead of the dirt lot next door. After lunch we came out to find the lot packed with cars and there was no way that I could just pull out then turn out of the lot as cars were beside me and in front of me with only a small drive between. I had to back up and get the RV turned then head out. I was a bit nervous as I’m not great at backing up, but with some backing and forthing I was able to clear the cars and get us out of the lot. Several cars had to wait but I imagine that they got over it.
I know that fuel is cheaper the 2nd exit after the Arizona border so waited to stop for fuel. I still had 90 miles left on the tank as per the gauge but the gauge goes down quickly so I knew I had to stop. But then I missed the turn off. Well no problem, I told Justin. There is a Flying J just ahead; but it was about 100 miles ahead. Oh well, we will find fuel, no problem. Opps. No stations for miles and in the mean time the gauge is falling rapidly! I really started to become concerned. But just before running out we found a station and filled. I thought that the tank held 32 gallons but it must hold more because I filled it with 32.89 gallons.
Sang to fun songs the last couple of hours and entertained Justin I’m sure, lucky guy. Ended with one of my favorites these days, Jimmy Buffit’s “Margaritaville”.
Luck held out today!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb