From 65 to 111 in a day....


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Tucson
July 9th 2010
Published: July 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My Turn! .... Hey all, hope all is well with everyone! It seems Jessica isn't feeling well and we just left CA and we can't be with her physically but if you will pray for her with us, we can be there for her in spirit. Thank you!

CA left me with a few observations, first; I love In-And-Out Burger!! Towana and I saw an interview with the owners and after hearing them talk about the place (and Josh and Brandi telling us about the Animal Burger.. thanks!) we decided to check them out.. WOW... if you are ever in CA, YOU NEED TO HEAD DIRECTLY TO ONE! It was the cleanest, freshest and best tasting fast food I've ever had... and believe me, I've eaten ALOT of fast food 😊 !! SO that was first, second; We were in an earthquake in San Diego! Towana and I were in Weston Mall when the 5.4 earthquake hit just a few miles from us. We really weren't aware of it until we got back to our room, when over the loud speaker we heard, "There is no need for alarm, we have just had an earthquake"!! Now, we're on the fourth floor of a thirty-five story hotel, that means there is over thirty floors above our heads potentially rocking back and forth.. I WANT TO PANIC at this point.. Towana, calmed my fears by saying if it's our time, it's our time... wow, really reassuring words baby.... after a few minutes the all clear call came and we took off to dinner. Hmm... if I were buried under thirty floors what would Bethany and Jessica do with my drums... hmmmm... can you say Yard Sale three times really fast?? Towana's stuff?? Smithsonian I'm sure... Oh well, hers stuff IS more stylish. 😊 Third; If you ever get to CA skip LA and just visit San Francisco and San Diego. LA is WAY over-rated with all the Hollywood stuff, Pretty Woman stores and freeways-freeways-freeways.... Yep, just fly down I-5 and wave to all the movie-star wannabes as you pass.... Fourth; If you ever have a chance to stay at a Ritz-Carlton.. STAY! The room I booked at Dove Mountain Resort is the most gorgeous room we have stayed in bar none. Towana told me, as she slipped into her fluffy terry cloth robe, she was made for this. I told her she married a Motel 6 man, she said I needed to step it up a bit... oh well.... Maybe I'll be a Comfort Inn man after today! That's a step up, right?? Right?? ... HA! Anyway... Last observation-- Our U.S. Border Patrol is great!!! We were stopped three times and were never hassled and always treated with respect. We saw patrol after patrol, helicopters, armed men, check-points.. the works.. all this repeated from CA to AZ. Felt very safe... but I know that is personal observational evidence... I will report more after we get past TX in a few days.. Well, that's all from me.. TJ wants to blog.. Love each of you.. Jody
PS. Our title?? It was 65 in San Diego when we left, the Tucson desert was 111, whew!

Okay my favorite people. I am not going to blog long tonight because I am enjoying living in the lap of luxury. I mean LUXURY! We are at the Ritz Carlton at Dove mountain in Arizona. My husband is the most wonderful man in the world! We did get it at a great rate though. We ordered room service and what an awesome meal, Jody got pizza and I got a flat iron steak, unbelievably delicious. There was a red wine reduction sauce with it and polenta and then there were rolls with guava nectar, I told you it is fancy! Now that your mouth is watering I will go on to tell you that the scenery outside our room is almost indescribable. This place is tucked away in the Arizona mountains where the sunsets are beyond beautiful. We look of our balcony and there in all its splendor is the and majesty of the natural desert. There are all kinds of desert flowers and cacti, this is a place you go to escape from the world! I forgot to mention that at sunset they signal this indian to play a flute as the sun sets because this is some ancient indian grounds. I think thats all I will write for now because I am relaxing in my Ritz Carlton robe and I truly do want to forget that I have to leave this place tomorrow, for now I am here and enjoying every single minute! Thanks for letting me share it with you, if I had the money I would bring all the people I love here and we would make a memory to last a lifetime, I really would ! Continue to remember us in your prayers and we will talk to you later . God bless you and all my love. TJ

Advertisement



Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0163s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1012.4kb