Take a Hike!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Tucson
February 26th 2010
Published: April 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

The Santa Rita Mountains stare me in the face every day. When I look out my back door I can see them peeking between the rooftops of my neighbors' houses. When I drive home, I see them standing tall against the blue sky, with a blanket of desert shrubs and cacti reaching as far as the eye can see. The peaks are jagged but seem inviting. I feel a sense of calm whenever I catch a glimpse of their raw beauty. For some reason though, we had lived here for nearly 3 years and had yet to venture to the rocks that call my name. Then winter came. Then snow fell. And then more fell. The Santa Ritas were painted with a sheet of white. I decided this was my time to finally venture to them and get more acquainted.

We've had higher than average precipitation fall this year so far, both rain and snow. The snow has been on the mountains for a couple of months now. I don't remember it sticking for this long the previous winters, nor do I believe the snow level went very far down in elevation. It makes me happy to know as I stand in 80 degree weather, with the sun gleaming on my face, that there is snow STILL on the Santa Ritas, well into spring time.

We went there 3 times in a months time frame, trying different hikes each time. The drive to the trailheads, through Madera Canyon was breathtaking in and of itself. For a second I forgot we were even in Arizona. As soon as the road begins to climb through the narrow canyon, you find yourself surrounded by sycamore trees. This is our new desert oasis and we plan returning many, many times!


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

tara dawn & sean rosstara dawn & sean ross
tara dawn & sean ross

on the Super Trail


1st April 2010

cool pics, looks like a nice hiking place!
1st April 2010

hike
I love to read your blogs. You write so well
2nd April 2010

Snow
Snow is one of those four letter words that are not good said outloud but the scenery is beautiful. Maybe I'll take that hike with you when it's not covered in the white stuff.

Tot: 0.426s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb