Sedona Trip, Day 6 & 7, West Fork & Flagstaff


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Sedona
April 23rd 2012
Published: September 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

PHOTOS FROM THESE DAYS AT WEST FORK & FLAGSTAFF

Not much to this day. We checked out early enough to make a last stop at West Fork on our way to Flagstaff. Then the rest of the day was walking around the town with my Olympus PEN camera. Our West Fork stop was short. We retraced some of the way I'd gone with Larry Lindahl, now so long ago.

The structures found in photos 3 thru 7 are of what is left of a production crew's digs for the 1922 Zane Grey movie Call Of The Canyon ---er, I read something about a Mayhew's Lodge. The Reader can do the research if necessary. In any event, I heard a woman ask the party she was strolling with, "Is this an old Indian village?" I augmented the shrugging-shoulders replies from her group with a mention of the movie. They thanked me and moved on. Later I caught up with them at the Register Box. I followed up my earlier information with the usual caveat about my ignorance in spite of my apparent knowledge. They asked where I was from. When I said Pennsylvania they asked, "Straub?" Yes, I said surprised. They must have heard of me. "We saw your name in the book," they said pointing to the register and sticking a proper pin into my inflated ego.

All that reminds me of an incident occurring on a small prop plane from Philly to home the next day. Barb and I were seated in the first row and other passengers were filing by as the boarding procession carried its usual tension. One rather loud guy standing in line just passed us said, "Marty?" I said, "Hey, how you doin'?" as if I actually recognized him. I was whispering to Barb that I have no idea who he was when he made his way back through the line to ask, "You have no idea who I am, do you?" I admitted my ignorance and waited for the reminder. Instead he said, "Haha. I just read your name tag," and pointed to my camera bag in the overhead storage. The whole plane cracked up. I led the applause.

The first leg of our return flight was at 5:30am which means we really didn't get any sleep. We arrived at the airport before the TSA employees, had to juggle weight between luggage pieces, then settle back for the ride home. Sure we missed home, and now we miss Sedona.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.347s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 26; qc: 149; dbt: 0.1556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb