Felons aand Funerals


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Phoenix
September 20th 2014
Published: September 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Well friends, our adventure begins with….Felons and Funerals

Phoenix, Arizona

As many of you probably saw on the national news yesterday we had a felon loose in the Phoenix Airport. Terminal 4 (our terminal for flying Southwest) was on lockdown for three hours until they finally apprehended the guy for robbing a gas station… geez! Flights were cancelled, no one was allowed to enter the airport grounds…helicopters overhead, what a mess… fortunately for us we had 24 hours before we would need to fly out.

Friday, 1PM

Today, after months of planning, the time finally came for us to leave for Asia. Our "driver” Ash, picked us up for the airport. We only have a 10 minute drive door to door, so it should have been a quick jaunt to departures. But alas, this was not to be. As we were about to enter the round-a-bout just outside our neighborhood, we came to a screeching halt. Police cars with lights flashing, directing a stream of funeral traffic through the circle and no one could get by… no problem I thought, 20-30 cars at most and we’ll be on our way. Of course not, too easy. 15 minutes and a 100 cars later we were still sitting there. I have no idea whose funeral it was but they must have been important and/or well loved! After 30 minutes and another 100 cars later ( I kid you not), we were finally on our way... almost. For half an hour, traffic had been backing up waiting for the funeral procession to go by so now everyone had to weave back into the circle. So ever so slowly car by car by car... each one entered the circle. Slow going… but finally only 1 hour after we left on this 10 minute journey we were at the airport…whew!

We rarely check our bags as most of you know; but because this is a three month trip and my husband is diabetic we have extra things we have to take. So the first leg is “heavy” (by our standards). This time we checked our bags and headed for the “Pre-Check” line to go through security. We both have Global Passes so it makes going through security quick and easy… usually. No taking off shoes or coats, no taking out laptops or toiletries… unless…there is a “newbie” in line who doesn’t get the process.

Yep, there she is,..she’s trying to take off her shoes… the TSA officer is saying “No,no,no, leave your shoes on”. The passenger looks blankly at her and continues to place her shoes on the belt and then proceeds to take out every item she has ever owned from her bag and put it on the belt. People are starting to grumble in line, the natives are restless. No problem, I am on vacation, I simply go into my Zen-like mode. I close my eyes and wait. And wait. And wait. Whatever is she doing? Oh ,my gosh, she finally got everything onto the belt but now it turns out she has left things in her pockets and the security alarm is going off as she tries to walk though. Oh goodness. This is not within my power to change. Back to Zen mode ;-) Finally, after my eyes have been closed for what seems like forever, the line moves and I place my carry- on on the belt and walk through the metal detector. I have to reach around the lady with all the stuff, as she is still trying to force everything back into her bag. I say, (okay I’m a pushover), “I noticed you had some problems coming through security. Can I help you with anything?” She turns to me incredulous and almost starts to cry but manages to say, “Could you help me carry everything over to that bench?” Not a problem, I smile (glad it’s not me), pick up my bag and one of hers and head for the bench while she gathers all her loose items. She gives me a quick hug and I leave her to her re-packing.

I hike over to the moving sidewalk which will take me to the ends of the earth where my gate awaits. There are children walking backwards on the moving sidewalk, and a group of guys, laughing and having a great time, oblivious to the fact anyone may want to get by. They are totally stopped and blocking everyone while they have a post football re-cap meeting. Okay, breathe, close eyes for a minute, I’m in no hurry. So I just stand quietly as the sidewalk takes me toward my destination and listen to the comforting sounds of young guy laughter as they discuss Ray Rice, how stupid the refs are and those “amazing” cheerleaders. Geez… I finally get off and…

Next stop Starbucks, of course. Hubby heads off to the gift shop while I join the caffeine deprived line snaking its way down the concourse. It’s moving pretty quickly for a Starbucks line but I find someone headed to Memphis to chat with and pass the time ;-). I’m finally at the tall, smiling barista and say, “ Venti, decaf, skinny vanilla latte” , please…and am never sure I have the order in the right order ;-), the Barista, re-arranges my order, asks my name, smiles and says “that will be $3,087,098,765” or something like that. I dig in my carry-on for my wallet and hand him my “in crowd” Starbucks card. He slips it through the machine and voila I am 5 minutes closer to my caffeine fix.

As I sip the hot “ Venti, decaf, skinny vanilla latte” soothing messages go straight to my brain. I re-check the monitor for my gate and head off through the crowds, happily sipping along the way. At each gate I scan the airport seats for newspapers that have been left behind. Or sometimes even a brand new magazine or book. Today it is an Oprah magazine. Score! Made up for the $3,087,098,765 I spent on my Starbucks coffee, LOL

Alas I’m at the gate but not a seat to be found so I head down to a vacant gate and plop myself. 40 minutes of peace with my new Oprah magazine and my “ Venti, decaf, skinny vanilla latte” ;-). Uh oh, almost forgot, where’s hubby? Quick, text him my latitude and longitude. Done. Patience, Patience, Patience ;-)

Next Adventure Stop: Seattle, Washington, USA

Advertisement



20th September 2014

Wow!
It sounds like you are already off to a good start! Yikes! I hope that isn't foreshadowing! Love you guys.
20th September 2014

Murphy's Law
Doesn't it always seem like whenever you need to be somewhere on time, everyone will drop what they're doing and get in your way? Even if it requires dying and having a funeral?!
20th September 2014

LOL
It certainly seems that way sometime! Waking up to a beautiful day in Seattle.
21st September 2014

Hurray!
Happy to hear you are on your way!
21st September 2014

Hurray!
Happy to hear you are on your way!
21st September 2014

Hurray!
Happy to hear you are on your way!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.03s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb