The journey planning continues


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Phoenix
June 5th 2014
Published: June 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

One of the reasons I'm headed as far north as Bellingham is because of all the wonderful islands accessible from there. This week Ive been researching Whidbey And Camano Islands. Whidbey actually has a spectacular bridge access through Deception Pass ,don't you just love that name? It's only a little over an hour from my place in Bellingham. Many years ago I stumbled on Coupeville Art Center,always had that tucked away as a place Id love to take a class .So guess what? This is the year !! I signed up for a mixed media class ,little painting ,little collage ,little paper art ,can't wait! Coupeville looks like a small wonderful small beachy town I cant wait to explore. It's also the home of Penn Cove mussels,reportedly some of the best in the Northwest. I'm going to be gorging on seafood all summer.

Camano is a smaller less developed island but looks to have some beautiful beaches. Its on the other side of Saratoga Passage from Whidbey and both are east of the straits of Juan de Fuca. I'm planning to learn how to put maps and photos in my blog ,but Im not there yet,wish me luck

It's been skirting 110 in Phoenix all week with no end in site,except monsoons. i'm glad I only have 16 days before I head to my friends in Clear Lake CA,just north of Napa .I'll visit with them and then start my toodle farther north at the end of the month. I'll be posting next week with more northwest dreams.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb