Would you like fries or mash potato with that? [Phoenix AZ]


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Phoenix
September 22nd 2009
Published: September 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post


As much as I was excited about visiting a new place like Phoenix, I was also somewhat reluctant, especially after spending the last five days in Las Vegas. From Vegas’ wild night life of neons and alcohol to the sandy plains of the wild-west; or at least that is how I pictured it to be.

For the most part I was right, but I have enjoyed it here none the less. Sitting at a higher altitude, with the desert heat of 100ish degrees (30ish Celsius for the metric folk) Phoenix has been a nice relaxing stop on the way to Russia.

Although a great time of Phoenix was spent either at our motel recuperating from Vegas or at a engraving company I visited I did see enough of Phoenix to begin forming some opinions of the Arizona people and Americans all together.

The people are FRIENDLY. Never have I seen so many smiles and friendly gestures, which is a shame because I have always thought Australia would be one up on the US on this one. From continual gestures from drivers to walk out in front of them crossing the road, to a friendly smile and service of the waitress’s at the local bar and grill - Phoenix has been a very welcoming place.

On our first night there Michelle took me out around the neighborhood - since she had the opportunity to scout out food spots during the day while I was with Vision Engravers seeing how their production line worked. Being in the engraving industry I found the tour of their facilities particularly interesting, as I am already very familiar with their product from a customer receiving perspective, it was great to see it from the construction and engineering perspective. Anyway, I digress; Michelle and I stopped in at a bar and grill for dinner, the bar itself was very ‘yankee’ with wooden floors and walls, men wearing their truck-driver caps at the bar sipping a pint of (by Australian standards pathetically WEAK) beer, while those with families and tourists alike took up the tables and seating along the parameter which were serviced by the friendly waiter staff.

Being a huge fan of Potato Skins, something to which I owe to my Aunt and Cuz for introducing me to at the Queens back home we ordered an entrée size serving for starters. For those who have not had the pleasure, and I mean that as they are simply divine, a ‘potato skin’ is simply a potato, halved, with the potato contents scooped out and replaced by an assortment of cheese and bacon and lightly grilled n’ served with sour cream.. YUM… hmm I digressed yet again… anyway, this was followed up by a cheeseburger (an American favourite) where the waitress asked would I prefer fries or mashed potato (Michelle jokingly thinks she was just asking to strike up conversation with me) of course I ordered the fries, who has mashed potato with their burger?! The evening also involved several rounds of Budweiser which got cheaper as the night progressed between our waitresses fudging up the bill and that we were now well into ‘happy hour’.

Although being at a grill there was a pretty good assortment of beer to choose from our choice of Budweiser came easy since it was the only beer not labeled ‘Lite’ - since when did the yanks drink lite beer? Australia may be now the fattest nation (which if you come over to America you may find hard to believe) but we sure as hell can drink ‘em under the table! - Even their Strawberry Daiquiri uses Lite Rum!

So although the Phoenix stopover has gone in a blink of an eye, it has left a strong impression; very friendly locals who won’t ask for a tip to smile, desert heat with zero humidity which agreed with me, and the realization that our Australian accent is alluring to the locals!

Next stop Denver ahoy!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0182s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb