It's 1750 miles to Chicago, we got two full packs of water, half a bottle of sunscreen, it's blindingly sunny, and we're wearing sunglasses.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Phoenix
May 5th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have to start by saying I’m really annoyed with myself. I just spent ages writing out this entry and it didn’t publish when requested (the usual computer error) so I have now lost the whole entry. I’ll try one more time.

Yesterday morning I finally bought myself some decent walking sandals. They surprisingly didn’t cost the same as an internal US flight (every single other pair were at least $50 - these were $15). Good old TK Maxx-esque shops! I also had good news about my credit card bill, so I just might afford this trip yet!

After lunch we ventured out for the aforementioned walk in the desert. Arriving at the trail’s start I realised that it was completely unlike any terrain I’ve ever hiked on before. There’s a surprising amount of vegetation in the desert. Not just cacti, thought there’s plenty of that. I was on high-alert (or thought I was) from the beginning, as Aaron’s cousin Mark had warned me about all of the creatures that could (and would) hurt me. Mountain lions, rattlesnakes, venomous spiders who live in holes covered by webs. There were things I would have liked to see too, like wild
The cow!The cow!The cow!

Damn thing...
deer and several kinds of beautiful birds.

The trail we went on had something to do with ‘Gold’, after a man who had found billions of dollars worth and hidden it somewhere on the mountain. There are all kinds of legends and curses surround it all with made me not even want to look (though will all the expeditions that had been to look I doubt that us three stood much chance).

The walk itself ended up much longer than intended. We took a wrong turn on our way back, and then several more so it ended up being in the region of about 7 miles. I enjoyed the walk, and the distance was fine, and the worry that we’d be lost there overnight kept me speedy!

My animal encounters were luckily of the non-biting/maiming kind. We were shocked to turn a corner and be staring at two large back cows. They were well-fed (thus reinforcing my previous comment about the deserts having vegetation) and though I was scared until I realized what they were it was good to see. My other encounter wasn’t as good - I had to stand frozen because an enormous wasp was
Me on a rockMe on a rockMe on a rock

Just to prove that I was there.
so fond of my top. Luckily I was freed, but kept feeling insects on me for the rest of the walk. Damn paranoia!

So I avoided dehydration, wasp stings, cow trampling (do they do that?!) and sunstroke. Not a bad day’s work at the moment! (and no blisters, now that’s an achievement)

Advertisement



5th May 2007

... hit it!
That pic of you on a rock doesn't prove anything - from that distance, in that hat, that could be anyone! And what's that in the background... Helsby Hill? Aha! You're lucky I believe you anyway ;-)

Tot: 0.259s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1968s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb