Valley Drive, Monument Valley, Arizona


Advertisement
Published: May 13th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The mittens! Elephant Butte! Three sisters! John Ford's Point! Camel Butte! Totem Pole! North Window! These are all interesting rock formations you can see along the Valley Drive at Monument Valley in Arizona. The 17 mile gravel road is in poor shape at the best of time. Although I initially tried to drive it myself, I quickly turned around after seeing the state of the road. I would not subject my rental to that road. Fortunately, the Navaho provide guided tours of the route in high clearance vehicles. A word of advice. Tell them the 75$ fee is too expensive. I did, and as I walked away someone came running to me to say that, "for me", I could have the tour for 50$! Go figure. This valley is the site of hundreds of movie productions. Many, many earlier westerns, as well as some more recent movies such as Back to the Future III, the recent Lone Ranger movie, and even Clint Eastwood climbed one of the spires in Eiger Sanction. You may recognize some of the formations from some of these movies; particularly perhaps the scene from Forrest Gump where he decided just to stop running. "I'm pretty tired now. I think I'll go home". That scene was shot on highway 163. In my first picture, I am driving on highway 163 South toward Monument Valley when the picture was taken. In the movie, Forrest was running North away from Monument Valley but at that exact location. I googled it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



29th July 2014
Highyway 163 South approaching Monument Valley

highway 163
all the photos have their own distinctive beauties, and this highway i imagine to dare sleep unharmed while driving because it is so straight.... hahahaha... cheers...
29th July 2014
THe cube

the cube..
i think i can dare resting without any thought of untoward??? winks.. the shed is just inviting... cheers!!!
29th July 2014
THe Window

the window
strategically and beautifully captured... cheers!!!
14th October 2014

Stunning
Your pictures are wonderful. Thanks.

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb