Canyon Day


Advertisement
Published: July 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Trip to Grand Canyon

We flew over the Hoover Dam and landed on the edge of the Canyon

Helicopter in CanyonHelicopter in CanyonHelicopter in Canyon

Should have been me!!! :-(
Today was 'Canyon Day'- I was going to be flown to the Canyon by plane, get into a chopper to be flown into the Canyon and then take a boat up the Colorado River and then reverse to get home. I was really looking forward to it, and at $300 it was a good price! I got picked up from the hostel and taken to a nearby airport. Looked a bit overcast, maybe even threatening rain and I hadn't packed waterproofs for my day outside at the Grand Canyon :-( Really must try and check weather forecasts!

Had a cheesy photo taken of me and the pilot stood next to our 'ride' to the Canyon. Had no intention of wasting my money on it so didn't beam with enthusiasm as they took the photo... (Which was so ironic - you will find out later...)

Eight of us boarded the plane and off we got, flying over the huge damned area of the Colorado river as we approached the massive Hoover Dam, that provides Vegas with the power for all it's 'neon fun'. We then approached the Canyon, it was on the other side of the plane to me, but
Flying over Hoover DamFlying over Hoover DamFlying over Hoover Dam

It was pretty impressive and the lake it had casued, all for neon lights and slot machines...
I wasn't bothered - I'd see it in a helicopter soon... We landed after a flight of under an hour. The cloud had burnt off and a strong breeze had developed - another perfect kite buggying day!

As we waited and watched choppers fly in and out, picking up and dropping off tourists the wind continued to pick up... Then we were told that the pilot due to take us down in to the Canyon had decided it was too windy to take any more down. Absolutely gutted! :-( We were going to get a partial refund and going to be taken to the two viewing points on the edge of the Canyon by coach.

When we got to the first viewing point I was amazed that there were no guides, signs, barriers - anything to stop you running excitedly towards the edge... and falling 4000 feet to your death! The country with a culture of suing for the slightest injury, due to not having a 'wet floor', 'mind the step', 'mind your head' sign, didn't have a 'mind the 4000 foot vertical drop' sign!! If you were that stupid you could sit/stand/dance/fall, right on the edge of
My Chopper...My Chopper...My Chopper...

This was the chopper due to take us down in to the Canyon (can you see the pilot who wanted to knock off early today?) ;-) Also wanted to show you the fantastic dress sense of fat americans (nice socks)!
the Canyon! See video here I edged as close as I dared for photos over the rim and then noticed the funniest thing: At this particular viewing point they are building a glass 'skywalk'. It is planned to project 70 feet out over the canyon, 4000 feet above the Colorado River with a glass bottom and sides. And on the fence surrounding the construction area - there are warning signs!!! LOL So, while looking at the "Warning Construction Site, Do Not Enter" sign, take a step to your right and you will fall to your death!

The views were amazing, but it was almost too big to take in from the edge. I needed to get in to the Canyon, fly through it and stand at the bottom looking up to really get the proper scale of the thing. It was almost like it was a flat (but beautiful) painting. So very disappointed. We then went to another viewing spot where we would have food cooked by Native Americans who owned that land. The food was really nice, but the wind was so fierce that I saw loads of plastic cups and polystyrene plates get blown out of bins
Map of CanyonMap of CanyonMap of Canyon

The location of the Skywalk is one of two viewing pionts I went to.
and in to the Canyon. I think they should use paper plates and cups - I hate litter, especially stuff that doesn't decompose!

I could see tiny helicopters (see here) and boats (see here) down in the valley which made my disappointment even worse. As I walked about exploring the area and views it was still swelteringly hot, even with the really strong wind. I saw some little Geckos and mini kangaroo rat things. There was also reconstructions of traditional Native American homes and tepees - right next to a power point… which was funny...

When we got back to the airport in Vegas, for not getting to go into the Canyon by helicopter & boat we were given our cheesy photos for free - Doh!

Got back to the hostel, bought some beer and did some emails. Met a Ozzy girl called Miranda who had come to Vegas to get married to her UK boyfriend - in a church that does a marriage every 30 minutes - with live webcast so all her and his family and friends can watch LOL Ended the night drinking in the hostel bar till late.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

SkywalkSkywalk
Skywalk

This is the Skywalk they are building over the Canyon.
Jay on the edge...Jay on the edge...
Jay on the edge...

This was me stood on the edge of a 4000 foot cliff.
My view...My view...
My view...

And this is what I could see from there...
Gecko...Gecko...
Gecko...

This was one of the little Geckos hanging around at the second viewing point
Boats on the river...Boats on the river...
Boats on the river...

If you look closely you can see little white power boat wakes in the river - that shows you the scale of the place!
Huge!!Huge!!
Huge!!

After seeing how small the boats are you can appreciate a bit better how huge this place is!


31st August 2006

suicide
Skywalk, how cool, although i reckon it will become the worlds most popular suicide destination. Hey maybe they should market that as a tour option. what a way to go!

Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0901s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb