Indeed, it's Grand


Advertisement
Published: October 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I visited the Grand Canyon a few years ago on a day trip, so knew what to expect of it. But even with foreknowledge, that great big rent in the Earth is still something breathtaking. And that's not just due to the elevation.

Left Lake Powell in the morning and drove through the Painted Desert. Lunch was on the Navajo reservation. Yum, fry bread with honey! The trading post at Cameron could easily suck in all my money, it has some incredible things, but I was able to restrain myself.

Got to the Canyon in the mid-afternoon, and made a stop at the Desert View and a couple of other places before heading to our hotel, the Thunderbird Lodge on the rim of the canyon. Had an early dinner (with a view of the canyon), then walked along the rim of the canyon watching the colors change as the sun set. Went out for another walk once the sun was down and the moon was up, but while the human eye could pick out the subtle shades at night, the camera was no good at it.

Got up early in the morning to catch the colors that came with sunrise. Came to an important conclusion. No matter how long I walked, there would always be more to see, so I had to be content with doing my best and realizing that it would be there if I ever came back again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0823s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb