Grand Canyon Hike


Advertisement
Published: July 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hiked in the Grand Canyon alone 4 days June 2005. This was my second hike in the Grand Canyon. Went over 48 hours without seeing another hiker. My route was the Hermit , Tonto, and Bright Angel Trails. There are a lot of rockslides on the Hermit to work through. Some places the original trail is burried and you have to climb up, over, or down the rubble to continue. There were small cairns to follow. The Tonto had water at Hermit Creek my 1st campsite, Mounument Creek my 2nd camp, Salt Creek had water, but just a small trickle. Horn Creek had water but I didn't use it because it is radio active from the old Orphan Mine. The rangers that I talked with at the back country office said that Cedar Springs was flowing, but I didn't need water at that point so I never went to see for myself. My 3rd camp was Indian Gardens and there was water from a spigot there. It was very hot, I didn't have a thermometer but I'd say near 100 day time temps.
Did not see any scorpions, but I did see a small Rattle Snake in some rocks on the Tonto Trail between Salt Creek and Horn Creek. He buzzed like a very mad loud bee and I walked around him at a safe distance. I had a great time, allthough this trip was a real test for me. I did get lonely after not seeing anyone for over 48 hours. There was nobody at my first 2 campsites.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb