Driving back to camp near Jacob Lake, Flagstaff, Arizona USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Flagstaff
September 28th 2020
Published: August 9th 2021
Edit Blog Post

I drove back to FS 425 as a nice ride to the main Forest Service 22 and turned South. FS 22 is a major route across the Kaibab Plateau, and is well maintained. I made a break stop at FS 6033 (legal camp) to enjoy the wind and the pine trees. Back to driving FS 22 I was making good time in fourth gear and 45 mph. I spotted a rock outcrop of interest and parked on FS 226. I grabbed a quart of cold water and walked over to the outcrop. I sat there for a good while drinking water and having a spiritual experience with the rock outcrop; or maybe I was very happy to be alive and free at a wonderful place.

I drove on FS 22 until the road made its dead end at Arizona Hwy 67. I drove North two miles and got to the General Store. They had a lot of good things there, but all I wanted was ice. I put the ice into my ice chest, and did a rearrangement inside the chest.

That was a very nice drive North on AZ Hwy 67 through meadows and forests with handy paved pull offs for day use.

Just South of Jacob Lake, I saw the Jacob Lake Fire-tower and that was a must stop. A short dirt road took me to the tower from the highway. I sat at the bottom of the tower for a while. Should an old disabled man climb up that tower? No, but I did anyway. The tower had very strong steel hand rails, and I slowly pulled myself up. I took a short break when I got to a platform. I slowly got two thirds of the way up (maybe 100 feet up), and enjoyed the view and a nice strong breeze. I slowly made my way down to the ground. It was good to see my old truck waiting there for me. I got me a cold soda to drink.

I made the short drive by the old horse stables at Forest Service 634 and set up my camp in the pine trees. I had a nice evening sitting on my tail-gate, with a cold rum drink. I got into my truck bed room and settled into my comfee foam bed for the night. I got some good sleep.

The next morning
Forest Service 425Forest Service 425Forest Service 425

Turn right on FS 22 to Hwy 67
I had my usual long coffee break and enjoyed the outdoors. I broke camp and drove down the Kaibab Plateau, to the hotter desert below.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Forest Service 6033 (by FS 22)Forest Service 6033 (by FS 22)
Forest Service 6033 (by FS 22)

break time in the pines
Forest Service 22Forest Service 22
Forest Service 22

great driving
Forest Service 226 (by FS 22)Forest Service 226 (by FS 22)
Forest Service 226 (by FS 22)

walk to small rock outcrop
Forest Service 226 (by FS 22)Forest Service 226 (by FS 22)
Forest Service 226 (by FS 22)

walk to small rock outcrop
Forest Service 22Forest Service 22
Forest Service 22

the main dirt road
Forest Service 22Forest Service 22
Forest Service 22

turn right to Fire Point
Forest Service 22Forest Service 22
Forest Service 22

turn right to Fire Point
Forest Service 22Forest Service 22
Forest Service 22

Arizona Hwy 67 follows the valley, Left to Jacob Lake
AZ Hwy 67AZ Hwy 67
AZ Hwy 67

nearby Country Store with ice
AZ Hwy 67AZ Hwy 67
AZ Hwy 67

Country Store ice break
AZ Hwy 67AZ Hwy 67
AZ Hwy 67

wildlife sign near Jacob Lake
AZ Hwy 67AZ Hwy 67
AZ Hwy 67

Bat sign near Jacob Lake
AZ Hwy 67AZ Hwy 67
AZ Hwy 67

Forest Service fire-tower
Jacob Lake Fire-towerJacob Lake Fire-tower
Jacob Lake Fire-tower

Historic Marker


Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1007s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb