Yeah, that's right, I'm in AK


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska
March 31st 2005
Published: March 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone, can't write much now, but I'm in Alaska. No joking around. I've been here about 5 days and I'm planning to stay a bit longer. Of course, I'm here to ski, with a place called Points North Heli Adventures, they have a really cool web site, so check that out if you have some free time. I can't post pictures from here, slow connection.

Anyway, we've had some nasty weather up here. It's ironic to be at a ski spot and be cursing the fact that snow is falling, but the heli thing only works on bluebird days. Even if we could get back into "The Zone" as it's called, all the terrain is well about tree line, and without some sun the light goes flat. We had a break in the storms today and so we got to fly and ski, and I really can't think of words that do this place justice, except maybe BIG, bigger than big in fact, thigh burning runs around cliff bands, seracs (some of the bluest ice I've ever seen) and glaciers. All sense of scale goes out of the window here. We got five runs in, and instead of just skiing wide open faces our guide got us into some great chutes. Steep fun lines in some of the best snow I've seen in a long long time. My personal highlight was getting FIRST TRACKS (the guides here usually pick a safety zone and let us all poach the lines) down through a long ridge which drained into a great, wide open chute. I had nothing but huge peaks and a glacier in front of me, no other ski tracks in sight. It wasn't the steepest, or deepest, or most adrenaline filled run I've ever done, but first tracks in Alaska is not something to take for granted. But like any junky now I just want more!

So I just wanted to give a quick hello, I promise to post some pictures and catch up on some of the stuff since the last blog (hint, Alta backcountry, Wolverine Cirque!!!). Adios,

Eamon

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb