Trip 2 Alaska!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska
November 18th 2008
Published: November 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

UnalakleetUnalakleetUnalakleet

This is the whole town. But the natives live back in the woods about as far back as you can see.
The most amazing place I’ve ever been is Alaska. Alaska’s cool brisk air brings a sensation of relaxation. I spent a little time in Anchorage. It's almost like Colorado except the trees are different and the air is more crisp. After two days there I went to Unalakleet which is a very small town on the Western coast of Alaska. I was about as close to Russia as you can get. It was a town of very few people. But over there, they like to be called natives. While I was there I spent time helping the natives build trails, helped cut sea lion’s heads off (that was cool), and had fun playing around with the natives that were my age. They liked to drive around on ATVs and snow mobiles when there is snow on the ground. Everyone thinks of Alaska as a really cold place with snow on the ground all the time. But I went in the middle of June and it was really awesome because it stayed fairly light out 24 hours a day and it was like 70 degrees almost every day. I was in a canoe with one of my friends and a native, hunting for animals in the water, having one of the best times of my life, at 2:30 in the morning, and it was still light outside. The atmosphere in Alaska is irreplaceable. The bright green trees and shrubbery made everything just a beautiful sight to see. The water there seemed to shimmer as the light reflected off of it into my eyes. Maybe it was the fact that the water was SO cold. You jumped in the water and you lost your breath for a minute because it was so frigid. Everything about Alaska got me hooked. I love the place and I’m for sure planning on going back. But for anyone who decides to take the trip, make sure you have lots of bug spray, because the mosquitoes down there could kill a horse.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb