June 6th


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Skagway
June 7th 2014
Published: June 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Friday June 6th, 10:24pm

Skagway, Alaska

Pictures are from Icy straight point.

After a sleepless night I was not a fan of my alarm clock this morning but I dragged myself out of the rack and got ready for work. I have almost completely lost my voice so I wasn’t sure how I was going to stand on the pier and direct the moonballs to the busses today but I was ready to give it a whirl.



I grabbed all the invoices and everything else I needed and headed for the pier. I was a little confused as I got outside as we were at a different pier today and I wasn’t quite sure where everything was. I bumped into Giorgi and got the scoop and it seemed like an easier dispatch from this pier, good for me. I was also excited to see my cell phone was working with my new Alaska sim card!



We got all the guests out of the theatre and on their way and then it was just little old me for the rest of the day. The one thing I love about the operators here is that they are so professional and so punctual that you really could leave them by themselves. I spent most of the morning in my little shack staring off into the mountains and I was really tired and still not feeling great. I had a little run in with one of our troublesome guests this morning as she came out an hour early and then demanded to go an hour early on her tour, when I informed her that was not possible she said I ruined her whole day because she had wasted an hour waiting around so then she wanted to cancel her tour, no way lady!! It went on for about 10 minutes; even Rob got to witness some of it as he came out to meet his tour.



The rest of the morning went off without a hitch and at 1pm I was free to head inside to do all the paperwork for the day. It only took me about 45 minutes today but I realized I was missing a bunch of tickets so I knew that meant I was going to be running back and forth from the ship to do individual invoices.



Sure enough I had to pop back onto the ship about a dozen times to print invoices and fix little mistakes here and there but by 4:30pm all the tours were back and I let the bridge know that we were ready to call it a day.



I headed to the office and it took me about another hour to get the rest of the paperwork done and at 6pm I called it a night and came home to sleep off the last remnants of this flu that has been battling me for the past couple of days. Tomorrow is supposed to be our first day of real Alaska weather in Ketchikan and I asked Giorgi if I could skip the tour as I don’t want to be out in the shitty weather and get more sick and she said that was ok, so Natalie and I are going to wander around town and have lunch and a coffee tomorrow.





At 9pm Natalie finished work and we headed upstairs for a little dinner before calling it a night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.574s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1862s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb