Alaska Update Sunday, Sept. 9 - Sitka


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Sitka
September 9th 2012
Published: September 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

No magnificationNo magnificationNo magnification

We were in kayaks this close to three Orcas. There is an unbelievable story to come about this
Hello to all. I have finished all sites I wanted to see and some I didn't know I wanted to see until I returned here to Sitka after having been on the 8-day Alaskan Dream Glacier and Wildlife Cruise aboard the Admiralty Dream. The cruise was everything and more than what was expected. There were just over fifty of us plus the 20 person crew. Our time was filled daily with education, adventure, and extraordinary sites. The food was unbelievably good. I have so much to share when I get to doing these days individually. We visited a few villages and met the Tlingit people. In fact our cultural guide was Tlingit and filled with fascinating information and stories of the culture and people both historically and current. We also had a scientific guide who taught us about Salmon, environment, and habitats. We learned so much and saw so much more that my mind and spirit are overflowing. The glaciers were unbelievable and the journey itself passed every type of scenery imaginable was constantly stimulating in spite of plentiful clouds and rain. Seals, Sea Lions, Orcas, Humpbacks, Bears, Sea Otters, Wolf, Salmon, urchins, jelly fish, crabs, starfish, eagles, puffins and countless other birds - all in their own wild habitat. So many memories to share. Absolutely astonishing. I have provided only one picture for now - partly because I couldn't get anymore to load right now and don't have time to work with it given such an early morning flight. More to come - I took literally hundreds of pictures this last week. The history all over the place and again in Sitka - mind-blowing especially when the historical years become a time I was actually already alive.

It was nice to have the same room every night but the thought of getting much rest was disspelled the first two days. Education filled time in between villages, walks, wildlife sightings, and other adventures. So much to absorb. We went many places the large cruise ships cannot and thus, we got up close and personal to the Alaskan experiences. alaska.org recommended to me and now I would highly, highly, highly recommend Alaska Dream Cruises to anyone that wants more of a true Alaska experience vs what the larger cruise lines offer - day trips they offer but especially the longer duration ones like this.

Tomorrow morning I fly back to Fairbanks. I had cancelled the formal tour trip I had scheduled this week prior to leaving for this one because it was basically the same itinerary as prior to the cruise but its specific intention was to see Northern Lights. That of course cannot be guaranteed so it seemed duplicative and costly in that if the Northern Lights are out, I can just as easily drive out of town myself to see them. There is a Polar Bear overnight trip I may take next weekend if the weight of those already signed up allows me to be added. Either way, I will spend the next 4-5 days in Fairbanks doing some more "normal" touring such as museums. There is a lot in Fairbanks including the actual North Pole address for Santa just outside of Fairbanks. I figure I need to get there to put in a good word for my grandsons. I also simply need to turn down my activity a few notches to allow some catch-up so am quite happy I had already cancelled this week's formal tour. There are signals from this body telling me I am overextended and it's time to listen. Perhaps I'll get some posting catch-up done. It's time to just "be" for a bit here and appreciate the experiences. I had heard it before but with all the story and experience sharing during the cruise, I heard clearly I have seen and done more than many Alaskans themselves. I have appreciated immensely every step of the journey as it happened but not at all sure I really understand the immensity of what I've accomplished. It will be goodness to take some time to look back to comprehend it. I hope those who have been praying for me are more importantly adding prayers of thanksgiving for what has already been granted. I have run out of adjectives to describe the remarkable events I have witnessed first hand. Slowing the pace might be a little difficult but should be helped in that many things are closing or going to winter hours here in Alaska now. The daylight hours are already so much shorter than they were when I got here. It is a good time to take some downtime to appreciate and value what I have already experienced. I don't know for sure when I will post next. So my dear family and friends, just know that I will be safe in Fairbanks this week and both mentally and spiritually, in an incredibly marvelous internal place 😊

God bless!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb