Sitka Trip


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Sitka
November 11th 2009
Published: March 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After having such a rough start in Juneau I then decided I needed to have a little mini vacation for myself. So I then took a trip down to Sitka Alaska on my own in November 2009. I flew down into Sitka where I had booked a hotel room at the Super 8 motel. I then spent the weekend touring the town. It was overcast and slightly windy with mild rain. Once I got settled into my hotel, I walked around Sitka. I took time to visit the historical sites, and made it down to the docks where I spent time enjoying the boats. After I walked a round the town I had the BEST fish and chips ever at this little ma and pop restaurant. Then enjoyed a night completely to my self in a quiet hotel room with cable. 😱
It was a great time to myself to get my head back in the game. After my time in Sitka I took the Alaska Marine Highway ferry for four hours north to Juneau. In the ferry terminal a squirrel came in a visited us people waiting. It was a riot to see it running about inside and out the doors and back in. The boat was beautiful. On the entrance to upstairs there was a tiled compass rose in the middle of the floor. It was so pretty. Overcast and chilly, but the views were amazing. I got to see so many snow covered mountains, as well as other boats, fishing boats, cabins, coves, and some marine life. I even saw a pink flamingo covered tree which was pretty neat. The trip did wonders for me. It helped me gain my independence. It was a definite eye opening experience.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

My photo for Dustin. My photo for Dustin.
My photo for Dustin.

Everything in the fly shop was 50-70% off


Tot: 0.288s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb