Week #1


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Seward
June 5th 2007
Published: June 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Alaskan BorderAlaskan BorderAlaskan Border

Sam, Casey and Doloris (Sorry for the mispelling) crossing into Alaska from the Yukon. We are excited because gas is now 2 dollars a gallon cheaper! Yeehaw

Week #1

 North America » United States » Alaska » Seward By Unemployed
June 5th 2007 Well, we arrived in Seward on Sunday night and had Memorial day to unpack the truck into our little rustic cabin. We arrived in rainy weather and it hasn't stopped since, though we did see sunshine for several hours yesterday. Other than being soggy and a little chilly (it is between 45 and 50 degrees and there is no source of heat in the cabin) we are doing pretty well. Sam is just starting to apply for some work this week, but I got a job on Tuesday taking reservations for a booking/fishing charter/kayak touring/campground company. As a reservationist I am required to go on some of the cruises and glacier tours to promote them. I have been on one cruise already and have seen killer whales and humpbacks. I had my first day off yesterday which was marred by a trip to the vet. Click on read full entry to read more...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Mi CasaMi Casa
Mi Casa

This is the front of our Cabin. I made it look nice and homey with mom's prayer flags which dress up the imitation tyvek paper on the outside. There are 4 more cabins like ours in this area and friends inhabit most of them which is good because it looks a little too much like Hardwick for comfort.
Cozy CabinCozy Cabin
Cozy Cabin

Despite the sometimes not so pristine exterior, the inside of the cabin is very cozy and snuggly. Ruby is very comfortable on the blankets and slepingbags on the bed. Our "kitchen" consists of Effie's homeade stove and we now have a Coleman 2 burner. No heat, but lots of hot tea.
HarborHarbor
Harbor

This is the small boat harbor where Sam's fishing boat left from. The mountains around it are especially impressive when the clouds clear. One of these days it will stop raining long enough to take a picture of them.
my half day of fishingmy half day of fishing
my half day of fishing

I went fishing with a friend for a few hours last week and the four of us only caught seven fish. The two I caught were rock fish, they made great fish tacos. Where I caught them was the same place The Hunt for Red October was filmed. We also saw some whales, puffins, eagles, and harbor seals.
CampfireCampfire
Campfire

There is a ring outside our cabins that all congregate to in the evening, which never gets dark. Sometimes it is hard to find a good private place to pee in all this daylight! Sometimes I make Ruby go pee with me cause I'm scared of the bears lurking.
FriendsFriends
Friends

Here are some other friends from AZ staying at the Luckville cabin site. Shannon (tall guy) and Erin (girl beside me) are here. This was the fated fishing and hiking trip for Ruby....
RubyBADdogRubyBADdog
RubyBADdog

This is a picture after Ruby killed a baby porcupine. The roof of her mouth looked like a hairbrush. The vet had to do an extensive removal because the quills were so tiny and stuck in her tounge, gums, and roof of her mouth. Ruby was in such distress Sam and I could barely get the quills on the outside. The vet in town was closed; so we had to drive to Sodatina 90 miles away. She better save me from a frickin' bear soon.


5th June 2007

MAN!!
It looks so beautiful there, even with the soggy aspect of things! I really want to visit, its the last of the great wild!
6th June 2007

rubybaddog
Man, ruby got some instant karma eh? That sucks guys! Hopefully she's alright and didn't cost too much!! Looks like a great time! I little chilly than thought huh? I want to see a whale! Get some pics of that! I love you and miss you tons! Sawyer says hi and haha to ruby. Love, Sarah
6th June 2007

Ruby Bad dog does it again!!!
I can't believe her! Hopefully she'll stay away from the porcupines now, though you never know what that dog will do. Miss you guys so much and can't believe your gone. Love the blog though, makes me feel like I get to be apart of your wonderful adventure even if it's from a distance! Love you guys be safe and keep the blog a goin!!
7th June 2007

Hey, looks like you are having a great time. We miss you guys, but enjoy seeing all the pictures. Have fun, Grant
7th June 2007

miss you!
seems to be a great adventure, i'm hoping we'll be able to meet in september.... keep an eye out at the post in the next week. stuff came up that slowed me from putting your package in the mail, but i've been thinking of you three and loving the updates. it's been very rainy in missoula, but i have hope that summer will arrive before wrangell. hope that ruby is recovering! love you
10th June 2007

Long Time No See
Hey Sam, long time no see. Sgt sent us this link to your travels. Glad to see you are doing well and having fun traveling. Stay Safe!
12th June 2007

When will Ruby ever learn her lesson? I wonder how she would manage in Tanzania? Lucky for Lulu, she was out and about when the 6 foot long cobra came into our house. I love looking at your pictures, we truely are in different worlds right now. I can't tell you what I wouldn't give to wear a cozy fleece, snuggle under a blanket, or drink a cup of tea without sweating my ass off. I can live vicariously through your Alaskan adventures, and hopefully you'll be living mine when you come to visit! :)

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb