Mendenhall Lake


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Juneau
June 17th 2011
Published: July 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Don and LupineDon and LupineDon and Lupine

Fond memories of my .Mother along the Trail of Time behind the Mendenhall Glacier Visitors Center
We loaded up the car and camper and sailed from Wrangell to Juneau on the M/V Taku last night. Now we are camping at Mendenhall Lake Campground, which is about 14 miles from downtown Juneau. We are very near the shore of Mendenhall Lake with views of the Mendenhall Glacier and flanked by the Mendenhall River. Because we had so much fun at Mendenhall Lake, we never made the drive into Juneau.

Glaciers hold a special place in my heart, since I recall fond memories of family camping trips to Glacier National Park in Montanta. My father graduated from the University of Minnesota as a Chemical Engineer with a minor in Geology. He loved rocks and always carried a canvas bag for collection along with his pic axe. Much of what my father taught us went over my head, but I do remember that glaciers are important, since they contribute vast volumes of freshwater. The southeast Alaska glaciers discharge twice as much freshwater as the Mississippi River!! As children we also learned that the glaciers grind up mountains into fine particles, which provide nutrients that form the basis of the food web.

The legacy passed on from my father tickles me. When I saw the beautiful blue color of glacial ice, I recalled his explanation: "Glacial ice appears blue because it absorbs all colors of the light spectrum except blue, which it transmits. The transmission of this blue wavelength gives glacial ice its blue appearance. Glacial ice may also appear white because some ice is highly fractured with air pockets and scatters the light spectrum. Throughout my entire life, I have pondered what colors of the light spectrum I absorb and which colors I do not absorb.

In the coming weeks, you must excuse me from vast amount of mountain and glacier photos submitted. Each photo is a memory of that special place in my heart as I recall my father's legacy.

Oh, I also need to add that my mother always carried a wildflower book along the trails. Whenever I see the alpine wildflowers, I am once again tickled beyond imagination. Life is such a thrill.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Campsite Campsite
Campsite

Mendenhall Lake
Mendenhall GlacierMendenhall Glacier
Mendenhall Glacier

Vast Amounts of Precious Water
Mendenhalll LakeMendenhalll Lake
Mendenhalll Lake

Near our campground
Steep CreekSteep Creek
Steep Creek

Along the Trail of Time.
Mendenhall LakeMendenhall Lake
Mendenhall Lake

Near our Campground
PorcupinePorcupine
Porcupine

near our campsite


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb