Rainy Day!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Juneau
June 5th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Lumberjack ShowThe Lumberjack ShowThe Lumberjack Show

After the show with the LumberJacks!
Ok....I resolve to be much better at updating this blog. I have so much time on my hands there really is no excuse for not keeping this current. We arrive at all of our Alaskan ports very early in the morning and then have the rest of the day to do whatever we want. So I have soooo much time on my hands. I've finished a few books...one of which is the Secret....I highly reccommend it. And I've also knit some scarves. So I will update this more frequently. The last two weeks were pretty crazy. We had so many reblocks because people were injured or sick. We had an outbreak of GI (the vomitting/diahrea cruiseship sickness) and for 2 weeks had to stay downstairs away from passengers. Aside from that it has been fun. Alaska is beautiful and for the first 2 weeks we had amazing weather. This cruise so far has been rainy. IT is a pleasant change thought....as long ans we see the sun every now and then I don't mind the occasional rainy day. I've been doing alot of hiking and it has been great. I want to go on all of the excursions like dog
Sawyer GlacierSawyer GlacierSawyer Glacier

Sally and I strike a pose before the show.....we couldn't miss it...it was a once in a lifetime chance to see the glacier as close as this!
sledding and glacier walking......so I'm really excited about Alaska. I have only seen a few whales and no bears yet....but I'm sure by the end of the summer I'll have ssen my fair share. Our Alaskan itinerary is a 7 day run. This is nice because we are in the same port on the same day every week.....this allows us to have some idea as to what the date is....or at least what day of the week it is! On Saturday we are in Seattle, followed by a sea day and then Ketchican on Monday. Tuesday we are in Juneau and Wednesday we are in Skagway. Then on Thursdays we are in Prince Rupert Canada followed by another day at sea. I'll post some pics and stories from the first few weeks in alaska and from now on keep it a little more updated!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

On Top of The WorldOn Top of The World
On Top of The World

Just another day in the office:)!
VancouverVancouver
Vancouver

Sally, Liam, Erik and I in Vancouver...we were only there for a day but it was beautiful!
SkagwaySkagway
Skagway

Taking a break during a hike in Skagway....what a view! Man my job is rough:)


Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb