No more Ocean Motion.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Inside Passage
April 26th 2015
Published: May 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

What a ride! Booking this ferry trip was almost accidental - I was

looking at volunteering at the Raptor Recovery Center in Sitka when I

found the Ferry System and that just clicked for me. Well, I know I

would not have it any differently than it worked out. It still sort of

surprises me that I take off and do these trips by myself..... Standing

at the yawning open belly of the M/V Malaspina on that day so long ago

that was only one week past, I wondered at the adventures to come,

wondered about how I was going to deal with doing this on my own. I had

no doubt that I would have a fabulous time, but wondered anyway. Well,

I was not on my own after all.



Finding my way around the ferry was, in itself, an adventure - often

finding myself in the totally opposite direction of where I needed to

be. Thankfully, having met up with a couple of others who were also on

this trip, it was nice to bump into them on board and see that they were

just as confused as I was. One of the first things I noticed was that

everyone spoke to everyone - well, generally. It was so easy to strike

up a conversation with anyone and really interesting to hear their

stories....... from leaving Alaska, to heading up for summer jobs. One

lady had sold up everything in Alaska and was headed south with her

daughters to see what she could see, another leaving to care for a sick

relative, another to work with kids in the reservations in Montana, yet

another heading South after 'marking off Alaska from my bucket list".

So, so many interesting people with fascinating stories.



The views were indescribably beautiful all the way there and back -

whether it was a grey and gloomy sky with ominous looking waters, or the

bright sunlight touching up the color on everything all around. The

constant anticipation of seeing a whale, or bear or even pink flamingo's

(plastic) in the trees, kept us all on our toes and scanning the waters

constantly. The short but interesting trips off the ferry were just a

glimpse of a life and a way of life that I would like to find out more

about. There is a laid back, relaxed sense in Alaska and its people.

Not lazy at all, just that it seems that people are more accommodating

of changing circumstances (stretching rubber bands), like when the ferry

was delayed. No big fuss was made - life goes on and everyone adapted.

Its a lovely attitude.



Leaving the dock at Bellingham last Friday heading North to Alaska, it

felt like a lifetime was stretched in front of me, with quiet, ocean and

scenery. Little did I know just how incredibly quickly this week would

pass by. Before I knew it, we were in Skagway which declared the trip

half over already! But I also had no idea of the friendships that

would be made, the laughter and sharing that was ever present from

beginning to end.



The Road Scholar group, led by Karen and Jere, were instrumental in

making this week simply amazing for me. They all accepted me into their

group pretty early on and I was invited to go along on their excursions

and to join in their meetings. I did not go to the meetings as I felt

that this is what the Road Scholar members paid for, and I had not

booked the trip through them. But I did join them on the day trips, and

we all mixed in during meal times and around the boat. I know my week

would have been very different and not nearly as wonderful had it not

been for all of them - so a huge big THANK YOU to Karen and Jere and the

rest of the group. I clicked nicely with a couple of the women on

board, but Dorothy and I ended up chatting, just sitting and watching

the ocean go by, or walking together during the outings. Lovely lady,

and along with Susan, Mary and Jan, we all seemed to bump into each

other regularly - many times to chat about the stories we had heard.

Dorothy and I often sat longer after dinner times, sipping slowly on a

really special lemonade we found. All in all it was a really wonderful

group of people and I felt very honored to be allowed to 'hitch hike' on

their trip. Mary and her friend traveled on the Greyhound with me to

Everette, Washington, after we got off the ferry - what a lovely

couple,really inspiring and so full of fun.



I also met a good many that were not a part of this group and hope to

keep in touch with at least a few of them. It was hard to say goodbye

when we all stood on shore again, waiting for luggage, buses or taxis.

And I kept on taking pictures of the Malaspina, with her mouth wide

open, waiting to gulp in the next load of people that would see the

wonders we had and to create more stories in their own lives. I envied

the new passengers, and yet, was ready to be on to the next stage of my

adventure. I would miss being curled into a corner of the bunk,

snuggled up warmly to the pillows and feel the gentle rocking all night

long and the occasional swishing of the bow wave. I will miss that.



This part of this adventure has been totally wonderful - I know that

once I get home and rested, when I can go through my photos and gently

savor the moments, the many very special moments, that I will truly be

able to soak up just how amazing it has been and how fortunate I have

been to travel on the Alaska Marine Highway. There is a ferry that goes

to Dutch Harbor almost at the end of the Aleutian Chain of islands of

Alaska.... and I know someone who would love to take that trip with

me........... Serena??



So - after a week of gently swaying to the ocean motion, I feel a sort

loss, this first night on terra firma, but it's wonderful to be with my

friends Debs and Tom for a day or so. On Sunday I get on Amtrak at

King Station in Seattle, travel for two days down south to Union

Station, Los Angeles and then on home again.



Till later

Annie



X

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb