Sailing with the glaciers.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Glacier Bay
June 20th 2009
Published: June 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

The sea is rocking and rolling a little tonight. We are in the open sea at the moment and it is neat...I am walking as though I am a little inebriated ... and I might well be .Supper was a formal occasion and I started with a glass of scotch before a meal of lobster washed down with a good red wine...and then there was the chocolate! Life is good.
Today we spent in Glacier Bay and it truly is awesome. The boat is able to draw into the fiords and sits and gently turns giving us a 360 view of these monolithes. Hearing the CRACK as a chunk falls off is quite a sound...like a gun shot . The folks on the boat were incredibly quiet most of the day ... what's to say except ooooo-aaaaaa-ooooooo .

and a few days pass...

Seward ,Alaska
The cruise is over and I must say that it was a good experience. The room was large enough for the three of us , the staff at every area of the boat was great , the food was not only copious it was great , and the programs offered and entertainmnt were great fun . I did ot have much time to sit on the deck and read there was too much going on. It was good and I would recommend Holland America to any one who asked .

The sites were interesting . Juneau is a funny little place ,Skagway is very pleasant as a Klondike tourist town and Ketchican had some interesting shopping. That seems to be the major thing promoted...shopping .shopping.and more shopping . Fun for a while but the boat was more interesting to me .I was amazed to discover that 300 people were doing the return trip today . They say it is cheaper to do that than it is to fly back to Vancouver ...if you have the time . I can't see myself doing it but ...

We debarked at 8:30 this morning ,and were able to leave our luggage at the train station and have spent the day at the Sea Center funded by Exon .It is truly a marvellous place. Many sea critters living and moving about in their enclosures . I liked it a lot . It has been raining all day so it was good to be indoors.

Tried to upload some photos but this system will have none of it ..too bad ...I have 100,s as always . Maybe in Anchorage.

Hope all is well .










Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1008.9kb