Why Exploring Matters


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Denali
August 8th 2009
Published: April 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

You have to push your limits. Take chances. You have to go where you haven't gone before. That's how I made it to this point in what would become a 10K+ road trip to Alaska. And yes, having the Miata as "My Trusty Steed" more than helped.

My first Grizzly. Actually my first three Grizzlies. A mom and two cubs. They came within 3 feet of the shuttle.

It took 45 minutes from the first sighting before they came that close.

This one cub was just too photogenic.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

US/Canadian Border RulesUS/Canadian Border Rules
US/Canadian Border Rules

I actually think this sign may be more confusing than the one at the US/Mexico border
US/Canadian Border ViewUS/Canadian Border View
US/Canadian Border View

This may have been the most barren, god forsaken place I have ever driven to. And both US and Canadian border police are stationed here. It's like 4 hours to the nearest civilization.
Grizzly CubGrizzly Cub
Grizzly Cub

Perhaps the best wildlife photo I have ever taken


Tot: 0.267s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb