And now I've got more bad news...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Denali
August 1st 2009
Published: August 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wow this is looking pretty bad. Just when I thought things had settled down and I would have no more bike problems, along comes something else. I was riding the Denali Highway, and what a beautiful ride indeed! Well then I slow down to pass by an RV on the road, and realize I cannot get below 4th gear. So I have 5th, 4th, then the transmission shifts into a false neutral. Transmissions problems are about the worse thing to have on the road. To inspect things, the engine must be taken out, the head taken off, and the entire case split apart. This is something I am capable of tackling in the comfort of my home shop, but not a change of be doing it on the side of the road. I have no idea what is wrong, and I may not know until morning.

All I know is starting from a dead stop in 4th gear is not fun at all. Plus it is a good way for me to burn up the clutch. But right now I have no choice. We have a campsite at the RV park in Cantwell, AK. I've sent out some messages, and will have to wait to see what my options are. Right now they look something like this:

Option 1: If repairs are reasonably priced, get them done in Anchorage. I'd have to limp the bike down there but I think it can be done. One number I heard was $130 just to have the motor taken apart and inspected. More cost on top of that for repairs. I have to keep in mind I only paid $2600 for the bike when I'm making repairs.

Option 2: Get the bike to Anchorage, and onto a ferry. This won't happen, because it costs $1600 for a ferry ride from Homer, AK to Bellingham, WA. On to other options.

Option 3: Limp the bike to Fairbanks, then put it up for sale on Craigslist. I'd have to get my title shipped up here but that isn't a problem. I'd get as much money out of it as possible in its current condition, then buy a plane ticket home. I'd stay with Duane and Linda again, those folks are some of the nicest and welcoming people you could ever meet, I can't say this enough. Derek would finish the trip by himself, he said he's cool with that.

Right now I have option 3 running through my mind, but you never know, it could me something simple to fix. I'm just really bummed out right now, and don't really know what to think. I'm trying to stay positive and make the best of it, but that is hard sometimes. Right now I am thinking I'll never ever ever ever consider buying KLR650 again. I'll keep ya'll updated.

Advertisement



1st August 2009

ah, mikey
i´m so sorry to hear about all of your mishaps during your trip! i am glad, however, that you at least made it up there to see how beautiful alaska is, and to meet awesome people who are hosting you. i will be thinking of you, keep us all updated!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb