Setting up and getting ready


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Anchorage
December 16th 2012
Published: December 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Dec. 16, 2012

Hello, All,

I am just setting up a blog to use during my adventure in Namibia. I am still in Anchorage at the moment. I will leave here Christmas night to fly to New York City, where I'll meet my sister Nicki. We'll spend a couple of days, then on the 28th I will meet my WorldTeach group, and on the morning of the 29th, we will head to Windhoek. We will have Orientation there for about three weeks, then we will all disperse to our various teaching assignments.

I will be going to a little town called Divundu. I haven't found it on a map, but it is about 200 km east of Rundu, which I have found in my atlas and on googlemaps. I'll be teaching in a brand new school, called a "Vision" School, meaning we will be working toward becoming a school as envisioned in Namibia's plan for education, called "Vision 2030." I am excited to be part of a brand new venture, but it also feels like a HUGE responsibility, so wish me luck and send good vibes!

I still have lots a things to do in order to be ready, so I will sign off now. I know that Namibia is very beautiful, so will try to add lots of pictures when I get there.

Wendy

P.S. I will be teaching English, but I will also be learning the local language, Rukwangali. After all those years teaching language, I hope I'll be a good learner!

Advertisement



31st December 2012

Wishing you well!
Hi Wendy, Will be thinking of you, keeping you in prayers for safe travel, and hoping to learn so much from your blog. Deborah
12th January 2013

Good vibes
Hi wendy I don't type well, but here goes. Found divundu on google earth and can zoom down to see cars etc where is the school (wait till u get there) Derrick Buntain of Keppoch will probably contact you seems he has an ore smelting operation in Tsuneb Namibia small world Eh . Enjoy
13th January 2013

Your trip
Good luck, Wendy, on your great educational adventure. I'll be watching for news on your blog. I'll check the towns on my Britannia map and then try Google. Very best wishes for 2013, George
24th January 2013

B-Day!
Happy Birthday to you... Happy Birthday to you... Happy Birthday Dear Wendy... Happy Birthday to you! Love, Mary
5th February 2013

Hello!!!
Hi wendy, How is Africa? Hope all is well and you are having an experience of a lifetime! Happy belated birthday! Love, Mary

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0989s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb