Fourth Week in Dothan


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama
March 5th 2022
Published: March 7th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Sunday: Having explored South, East and previously stayed West of Dothan it was time to head North and see what else this state has. So up to Eufaula, Alabama! The type of place I didn't think I ever would go, nor would I really recommend. But, it's quite amusing seeing these backwards random places in the deep south. Apparently "Nature Preserve" and "Hunting Area" are synonyms in this state. So that was interesting... There was also supposed to be a .5 mile "nature trail" but it appeared someone might have messed with the arrows of the trail as a prank? Seriously not sure what was going on at that nature preserve. Also found a state park which advertised that it had 4 approximately 1 mile hiking trails but the trails were no where to be found. (Though it does look like good boat recreation). Overall my conclusion is that Alabama and hiking and nature exploring just don't get along. It wasn't a complete bust because I had some delicious potatoes at a country breakfast in town and there was a 4 mile paved "fitness path" in the town of Eufaula. The path had a couple little dirt off shoots down to a creek and I even found a waterfall!

Tuesday: Copper and I discovered a craft brewery patio where apparently on Tuesday nights a Frisbee golf tournament is setup. Space is barely big enough for the fribees and there was no one else on the patio except us who wasn't there for the tournament. It was quite an interesting dynamic to people watch and copper became the mascot and everyone's good luck charm. Players were asking him to pick which Frisbee to throw first even.

Wednesday: I finished the peanut hunt quest! On my lunch break at 1pm I headed to the GW Carver Museum which has posted hours of Wednesday-Saturday 10am-4pm which is reasonable for a museum. Except they were closed with no sign on the door or anything. I was able to spy in a window and get a very bad picture of my last peanut. There are certainly other peanuts out there but I found each one that is on the map from the visitor center (plus 3 extras 😊

Friday: Time to pack up my entire life into suitcases and load up the car for a long drive tomorrow. But we must also enjoy an afternoon coffee in downtown while I procrastinate on packing- plus you gotta soak up the last of the Dothan culture

Saturday: The longest distance I have attempted to cover in a day 570 miles and should have been a little over 8 hours of driving. But of course there was a major accident along the way so google maps gave an alternate route and then coming into Miami I can't count how many accidents there were and mini slow downs. So it was a solid 11 hours on the road with fairly minimal stops. Ok we did stop for 20 minutes at a dog park along the way to stretch our legs and man it was a gorgeous view for a dog park! Copper's way of measuring if he's visited a state I think is measured by did he poop there and did he visit a dog park so here we are in Florida!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb