Cotton, ducks and dry leaves.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama » Talladega
November 18th 2008
Published: November 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I know what it says,I know what it says,I know what it says,

but I'm having a really hard time believing it. I've always taught that St Augustine was the first city in America. There might be some small print some place. This sign is inside a flour mill at--you guess it--Childersburg. If I still had a classroom of kids, I'd assign them to research it.....
(Shocco Springs Baptist Conference Center)

Last week the trees were glowing with color, but then over the weekend it got down to the mid 30s with wind, and the leaves lost their brilliance, and most of them lost their hold on the trees. Now the ground is covered with the red leaves. Another thing that's really funny, and has become a part of our lives it seems (except when we were in Dickinson!) is the acorns. In California I kept going on about how big they were, and here they're about the size of a piece of hominy, but there are so very many. They're so small that when you step on them, and if you put your foot on the ground, you step on lots at one time, you crush them. But the funny thing is how much noise they make when they hit the roof of the motor home. It's like someone pelting rocks at us! And then every once in a while one will hit and roll~~that's entertaining at 2 in the morning! Saturday I got up there to sweep them off, thinking there must be thousands, and there were only a tiny fraction of that many,
They aren't really swimming, They aren't really swimming, They aren't really swimming,

At first I was afraid they were going to get washed over, but apparently they've done this before, because they floated down the river until they got to the falls, and then they just stayed
and they're so little and innocent looking! The trees they're falling from aren't six feet above the roof, so we can't figure out how they can make so much noise!! But speaking of noise on the roof, at the last project a squirrel got on the roof, and we had to laugh at the sound of his feet running on the roof~~it was like he was lost up there, and kept running back and forth!!

At the last project I think I mentioned ladybugs (aphids, for my bogologist friends). They were as thick as houseflies in the fall, and if you'd lay something on the ground for even a few minutes, it was apt to have several on it. When I was cleaning in the conference center in Tennessee I vacuumed up hundreds of them as they crawled on the walls and ceiling on the sunny side of the building. Ladybugs are a little like teenagers~~cute in groups of three or four, but any more than that and they're just plain scary. When we got here they were just as bad; we had to brush them off the door frame before we opened the door, and we always had
At Grist Mill (near Childersburg)At Grist Mill (near Childersburg)At Grist Mill (near Childersburg)

I was watching this woman watch the ducks as they got out of the pond, and everything was peaceful and nice, and then one of the ducks started chasing her, and she screamed and ran away! How quickly things change!!
one or two crawling on the ceiling. The only tolerable thing about them is that they're easy to catch. But after the cold weekend, they're pretty much gone. Gone where? I don't know and I don't care...they're just gone from the doors and ceilings!

The first week at a project we go to church as a group at the camp's host church. The church we attended had a fundraiser dinner for their youth, that featured ham, mashed potatoes, steamed okra (no thanks) and congealed salad....not a pleasant mental picture, is it? Turns out it's jello salad!!!

People speak with a different accent here than they did in Tennessee, but it's still so hard to understand. A couple weeks ago we were out to dinner and after the waitress took our orders she asked something else. I didn't quite understand what she said, but I smiled and said yes....we ended up having hushpuppies with our dinner! I guess I'm lucky it was hushpuppies, and not something else she was offering!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Cotton in Alabama?!Cotton in Alabama?!
Cotton in Alabama?!

We were surprised that we were so surprised to see cotton fields! If I thought the soybean fields looked dry and ratty, they have nothing over the cotton fields!
Some of the fields were already Some of the fields were already
Some of the fields were already

harvested, and you could see clumps of cotton hanging to the surrounding weeds, and also along the highways. I was surprised by how small the fields were~~I think I expected plantations!
Cotton bolls.Cotton bolls.
Cotton bolls.

The morning we stopped to look at this field there was a heavy dew, and the cotton was sopping wet! I could squeeze water from it!
The view from our front window.The view from our front window.
The view from our front window.

Last week the colors were so brilliant, and then over the weekend it got down to the mid 30s and the wind blew (cold) and the leaves lost their glow, and dropped from the trees!
There are pansies for saleThere are pansies for sale
There are pansies for sale

in all the stores, and many many pansy beds around the camp. Some of the beds are only yellow, some are purple, and some are mixed. They're very pretty, except they're cluttered with dry leaves.


19th November 2008

Your water/ducks picture
Your picture of the dam with the ducks is outstanding. The waterfall is pure silver and the light shinning through the water on top and the ripples.... I think you should enter it in a contest or something.
19th November 2008

What cool pictures! I laughed at the picture with the ducks chasing the lady! How lucky was she that you happened to have a camera at the exact moment she was being assualted :) The cotton is so neat!
19th November 2008

Hi, Chris--
Thank you for your kind words. God gives lots of opportunities for beautiful pictures, doesn' he! Find a contest for me, and I'll enter it. I have been looking for some. I should google it....
19th November 2008

Hi, Sar--
Yeah, I didn't try to help the woman, but I did get a great shot of it!! Just before that she was feeding them and talking on her cell phone!
24th November 2008

LOL
Could you even eat the hushpuppies?? The pictures on here are incredible- you are really getting good at taking scenic pics. (and did that lady know you were taking pics of here?) Those cottonf ields remind me of the drive between Clovis and Lubbock.
27th November 2008

Hi, Lisa!
No, I can't eat hushpuppies, but we were just glad we didn't end up with a lobster. And your dad enjoyed them! The only time we've ever seen cotton fields was when we drove to Lubbock, and by that time they had harvested them, and all we saw was the cotton scattered everywhere.

Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb