3 Hour bus Ride to DF


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
October 31st 2016
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 19.4106, -99.1306

The alarm went off at 3:00am, and we were out of the hotel room at 3:45am after my quick shower.

We were wondering if Jon and Jan would be up, and surprisingly, they were out in the lobby with their luggage before we even got there or could help them with their luggage.

We loaded up the van and headed to the ER Estrella Roja Bus Station, about 20 minutes away.

We had Jon and Jan Edwards, us, Voltaire Cacal, Duke White and Dan Shotts, plus Fran Schmidt and Irv Wenger on the bus. It was quite full.

I slept for about 1.5 hours while we crossed the mountain pass. It took us 1.5 hours to go through the traffic into Mexico City.

I'm thankful we left on the 5am bus to the city, to allow us enough time to get to the airport in time. While we drove through the traffic, we saw many unusual sights.

Glenn bough some Krispy Kreme donuts for me - they tasted like 1 day old. I did post a picture onto Instagram and FB. We were at the VERY end of the airport terminal. Jan could barely walk, so I "hailed down" an employee to "haul" us to the gate.

I also was able to use my mobile app as my boarding pass and also Mobile Passport to check back into the country. Quite wonderful travel tool.

We were at the back of the airplane. Once we got off the plane, we used the Mobile Passport app, and didn't have to fill out any form, or take our picture. Even when going thru the Customs part, we just scanned my iphone and we were cleared to go through.

Once we got outside with our luggage, there was Dale and Sandi Vick picking up the Edwards. We visited for a while and got caught up on each others' lives.

Judi Bishop picked us up and took us to our RAV 4. We decided we needed to vote soon rather than wait untill we got to the LH area, so I picked up an app that gave us a location in Irving. So, we voted.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb