Day 18 Driving in cataclysmic rain


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
June 15th 2015
Published: June 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Distance driven today: 258 miles / 415 km

Cumulative distance driven: 5,323 miles / 8,567 km (12,000 miles to go)

Today’s trip: Zacatecos, Zacatecos to Santiago de Queretaro, Querataro, Mecixo


Not much to write about today. I rode a rather short distance in order to slow down my progress a bit. The goal is to be in Veracruz, by the Mexican gulf coast, by Wednesday, which is when Zoe will be flying in from Seattle. Once I pick her up, the idea is that the two of us will continue south together. I am really looking forwarding to riding with Zoe, though this will for sure be a change for me, as I have been used to riding alone for over two weeks now. Also, it will mean a bit more work for me, as I will be adding over 150 pounds (the extra rider + her gear) to the weight of the bike.



The ride into the town of Querataro coincided with a forceful tropical rain. I guess that I better get used to that type of rain when travelling through Central America in the summer time. Heavy afternoon traffic, combined with poor road drainage (see video), and challenging Mexican driver mentality (read: no turn signals when changing lanes and no speed limit compliance whatsoever) lead to a very challenging last 30 min of driving, before I got to my hotel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0822s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb