MX-Part 1: Mexico city to Morelia


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
March 12th 2010
Published: March 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Mexico cityMexico cityMexico city

Frida Kahlo´s house
I arrived in Mexico and headed to stay with a lovely lady Edith and her family. I found them on couchsurfing.org and this is how i´ll be making my way around Mexico, by staying on peoples couch´s!
I had a few days in the city, everyone says how dangerous Mexico city is, but i felt pretty safe wandering around on my own and using the metro, to get from Edith´s into the city. I went to the city centre on the Sunday when most of the museums are free, the folkloric art was my favourite with all the ´day of the dead´ skeletons. Theres also Aztec ruins rightin the centre of the city at Templo mayor, where the Aztecs believe the centre of the universe is! I also hung out in the laid back suburb of Coyoacan and went to the Frida Kahlo museum. An hour outside MC is Teotihuacan another important Aztec site and the 3rd biggest pyramid in the world, it was a huge site and i spent most of the day wandering around.
From MC i headed to Anagangueo to see the Monarch butterflies, they fly here every year from North America to mate, then the males die
Mexico cityMexico cityMexico city

Frida and Diego
and ther females fly back to lay there eggs! There was flooding a few weeks before i arrived and apparently half the butterflies were killed. But the amount there was still amazing, some tree branches were completely covered. I only stopped for the night as once you´ve seen the butterflies theres nothing more to do!
I had an overnight stop in Toluca, it wasn´t in my original plan, but Mike a friend from home was working there, so we met up for the evening.
I then headed to Taxco the silver capital of Mexico and stayed with a guy called Efrain, he owns a couple of cafe´s, so i didn´t see much of him as he works nearly all the time! Taxco was beautiful, you could get lost in the narrow cobbled streets for hours, or just sit in a cafe on the main square and watch the world go by. Mike had the weekend off so he came and joined me and we visited the Cacahuamilpa caves, they´re massive caves you walk in 1.2 km´s and the top is 82ms high, i´ve been in some big caves before but these were huge! Unfortunately i wasn´t feeling great, got a cold and in think all the deep breathing climbing Taxco´s steep hills at altitude gave me chest infection! It didn´t help with the hundreds of Beetles driving around, throwing out nasty fumes!
I headed to Acapulco next, the drive down was horrible, my ears were in agony and when i arrived i could hardly hear! After a good nights sleep i woke feeling a bit better. Acapulco was nicer than i expected. The americans are on spring break, but they all party all night and sleep all day, so i had the beach pretty much to myself in the mornings. I went to see the cliff divers, those of you who have seen the Elvis film, ´Fun in Acapulco' will know what i´m talking about! They dive 25m into a small channel, its was pretty impressive to watch.
Next stop, Zihuatanejo and couchsurfing with Maura and Pako. Zihua´s another beach town, but alot smaller and more laid back than Acapulco, spent a lovely few days relaxing on the beach!
I then headed back inland and stayed with the lovely Marisol, she was having a bit of a bad day when i arrived but made the best of it, took me out and introduced me to some new Mexican foods. I visited the Barranca del Cupatitzio nation park, its beautiful, with a big river running through it and waterfalls and fountains everywhere. But i only stayed for 1 day and then it was on to Morelia.
Morelia´s a gorgeous city, beautiful buildings and a really laid back feel to it. I stayed with Karla, her Mum and Gran in a lovely little flat. Karla was pretty busy but took me out whan she could and when she couldn´t her friends did! I got introduced to some interesting foods and Micheladas, beer with salsa, soy, lime and salt, odd but strangely nice!


Additional photos below
Photos: 76, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb