What do you think about driving in Mexico?


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
December 9th 2009
Published: December 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ok, i'm thinking of taking a trip thru Mexico and wondering what does anyone think about my families safety if we were to spend a few weeks driving thru Mexico?

Advertisement



12th December 2009

Driving in Mexico
I have lived and driven extensively in Mexico for the last 11 or 12 years. I have never really felt worried for my personal security. The short answer is you are fine as long as you exercise some common sense. The long answer was getting so long, I decided to put in on my Blog! see PacificCoastMexico dot com, there is a link on the main page to my blog.
13th December 2009

Driving thrue Mexico
In winter 2007/2008 we spent 2 months driving along the Gulf of Mexico down to Vera Cruz, then went to Catemaco. After 2 weeks we drove across to the Western side of Mexico and went up the coast towards Guadalajara, were we spent another two weeks before driving up towards Eagle Pass TX. We had a 5th wheel so we slept in camping grounds...sometimes alone and no owner on site. We also slept 2 or 3 times in the parking lot of a Pemex station. We never felt uneasy. Even the 2 military inspections were very friendly, they were more interested in visiting a Casa Rodante than actually look for something. Only once, a cop tried to stop us for crossing a red light and he obviously wanted money, I told him, I would gladly go to the police station to pay the "fine". He let us go. The only thing I would say, is to get away the fastest possible from any "border towns" especially Tijuana

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb