Mexico 2002


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
March 11th 2004
Published: March 11th 2004
Edit Blog Post


Mexico 2002

Okay… so we decided to visit Mexico for a few days and experience the south boarder adventure. Our trip began at the Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (AUS) the two of us and another couple went to the Iberostar Quetzal All Inclusive (Playa del Carmen), the plan was to stay 4 days, we arrived with two small carrions and our friends with 5 extra large suitcases! - We end up helping them to carry some of their load… and that took care of our light travel plans, but they are good friends and I suppose that qualifies you to be their own personal ‘bag boy’.

The transportation arrangements between the Mexican airport and our Hotel was a complete chaos but with our Spanish we were able to take the last 10 PAX van that we shared with 8 more people, all together 12 PAX, but we just had a few coronas (birras) and the trip was not that bad… we were out for an adventure and we did not mind a bit discomfort to get to the resort. When arrived to the Hotel, the place (playa del Carmen) was spectacular, I unquestionably recommend this place to any one looking for a pleasant time by the ocean, inside the resort we had ALL the drinks, meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) included, all we needed to do was to make sure we did not eat or drink too much… not bad, not bad at all.

 



We took some ATV riding, of course! went to see the Maya ruins of Chichén-Itzá (http://www.internet-at-work.com/hos_mcgrane/chichen/chichen_index.html) , did some swimming with dolphins, eat, drink and be married… - we had a good time. I wanted to bring at least one bottle of the famous Mexican Tequila to share with my friendly neighbors (I am being sarcastic… ok) and thought that if I spoke Spanish to a local I would be able to get the best price in town. _ Did my tequila buying plans worked? _ Of course not!, the locals just took a good look at me and I was just one more ‘guero’ trying to buy tequila, when finally got the precious souvenir they changed me in Mexican pesos I though I had the deal of the century… when I got back to the taxi my friends made the exchange calculations to find out the fantastic price I paid - and was about 35 US dollars, I just laugh and proudly took my bottle of “Cuervo Viejo” tequila back home… by the way, I found out I can buy the very same tequila at the supermarket back home for about $15 dollars. So if you ever find yourself in Texas, stop by a local 'cantina' and have a shot of the most expensive tequila they offer celebrating the wisdom of our Mexico adventures…

 



Ps. One of our friends’ suitcases was full of snacks!.... Yes! Snacks!... who brings snacks to another country on a vacation? _ that was just hilarious, but shh… we won’t tell them, I cannot wait for our next trip together…. Italia will be an interesting place... we will see, we will see…

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1021.5kb