Adios Beaches!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
May 19th 2007
Published: May 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Puerto Escondido --> Oaxaca City. All good things come to an end, the 37degC heat was (almost) a relief to leave behind, I´ve had an AMAZING 9 days of lazing in hammocks, sunbathing and surfing. PE was a totally cool place! Our last few days were spent playing in the sand and trying to find waves that did not intend to kill us, PE is said to be "one of the best surf spots in the world for surfers" on the Mexican Pipeline (where the waves forms a tube to surf within)but the proviso is that you can surf well to start with.

We surfed as much as we could, I finished my last waves in a blaze, I almost drowned!! Myself and el Nick caught the same wave, my leash tangled with his and the sheer forace yanked me off underwater as if caught by a mad sea bass and I had the curious sensation of thinking "oh, I could drown"....funny how the mind works. Luckily he made it to the "kitchen" and I lived to fight another day....on the beach, in the warm, sipping a pina colada...no where near the waves. 😉

It´s soooo great having Kez&Nick here, we totally get along great and have a similar mindset (easy on the museums, churches etc...and full on into food tasting and active stuff). We have discussed everything from philosophy to which Kez could live without: Limes or Lemons....it´s a tricky one but limes won. Oddly no lemons in Mexico. The fresh fish here is fab, for only about 2 GBP you can have a full meal, and they do these funky liquado drinks with fresh melon wizzed up with water for only a few pence.

So, we left PE on Saturday at 8am, it was the vomit inducing twister road again which was painful for 7hrs in high altitude and the heat, poor Kez really suffered and Nick stoicly read his book and breezed though it!


Hurray I have been invited to Fernando´s wedding in Mexico City. I am truly honoured!!
Argh: Battered feet (lost tonails, blood blisters, blisters, cuts). My company trying to contact me whilst on Sabbatical.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



22nd May 2007

Pina Colada
Do you like Pina Colada's, and getting caught in the rain?

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb