UXMAL


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Uxmal
January 3rd 2008
Published: January 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Before I get to Uxmal (Actually SANTA ELENA), I spent a night in Merida. I stayed in the centrum, where the beutiful and colorful streets are covered with dust and the smok of the cars. I would only go to Merida if I need information about post colonial Mexico and some backgrund on Mayans.

In the new years eve, I left Merida towards UXMAL, one of the biggest Mayan ruins in Mexico. I got out of the bus in UXMAL and soon realized that the hotels are much more expensive than I would have paid for.
The more reasonable places to stay are UMAN or SANTA ELENA, which are both about 12 kilometers away from UXMAL itself. After being left on the federal road 160, someone gave me a ride to the twon (SANTA ELENA), where there are only three posibilities to choose from. I decided for El Chac Mool and got a brand new room with brand new bed. I was the first person staying in the newly renovated room with an air conditioner for only less than 20 dollars. People liked me here as the same for everywhere else I have already been in Mexico.
I had the most quite new years eve in my life with doing nothing except walking along the twon and saying hello to people waiting for the 2008th year after crash to begin.

Happy new life


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

STA ELENASTA ELENA
STA ELENA

You can see the room I stayed in from between the tree at right (the wite door)


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb