Merida 2016


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
February 20th 2016
Published: February 21st 2016
Edit Blog Post

PlazaPlazaPlaza

Politics in Mexico
Lost in Merida

Only an idiot can get lost in Merida, more specifically, this idiot. The streets are numbered odd going east to west and numbered even going north to south.

It has been a fun day. Had an early breakfast and went to the language school. Everyone was teaching so I wandered around. The reviews of the school are excellent and I think the teachers spend their time teaching not writing good reviews.

I was then going to walk up to the History Museum to see their new Mayan exhibit. Some- how, I turned around and got lost. So, I finally took a bus. That is when the adventure began. Old bus, no AC and it drove the back lanes. You could feel every bump and when he went over the speed bumps, the back of the bus rose two feet in the air. After doing two complete routes, I got off on a main street. Of course, I did not know which way was El Center so I asked a women at the bus stop and she pointed me to the bus stop across the street. Got on the next bus and it was brand new
PlazaPlazaPlaza

Cool Chairs and Wifi in all the parks
with AC. I am saying I do not know if it goes downtown, but I just love the AC since it is pretty hot today. Little did I know that it did not go downtown. So I asked the bus driver where is El Centro and he dropped me off and I took a mini bus. This went to El Centro and not the Grand Plaza, which I thought was El Centro. I got off and after five or six blocks I found the Grand Plaza and my hotel. I also found where the locals shop. It was really interesting and will be very useful for the rest of the trip.



I also learned more about how driving in Mexico is actually done. When a signal is out, the Mexican driver does not behave like a Western European or American and let every other driver go. No, one lane just goes till the other lane starts getting frustrated and creeps out into the intersection. When someone in the other lane loses their nerve, then a through fare is started. I know in the Bible it says the meek will inherit the earth. But if the meek is
Mexican Resturent Mexican Resturent Mexican Resturent

A hat or purse rake for each table
driving in Mexico they are not going to get very far. I love seeing how different cultures handle difficult situations. There is no wrong or right, just different. There are other cultural differences that are interesting. When you have a meal, you have to ask for the check because a Mexican would never think of asking a guest to leave the table in their home or restaurant.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

PlazaPlaza
Plaza

After Sunday Church, the vendors set up breakfast stands and seating


Tot: 0.278s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.2279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb