Merida 2016


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
February 20th 2016
Published: February 20th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Grand HotelGrand HotelGrand Hotel

View from the park in front.
Merida and costs



The hotel is right off the main square in Old Town. It is the old classic hotel in Merida, built in 1901. Down the street is the Cathedral built in the 1540’s with the stones from the Mayan city. Merida is the oldest city in North or South America. I used to love Cancun when I first started going there in 1990, but it so big and commercialized that I will not be sad to never see it again. The people in Merida are so nice with little western influence. The main languages are Spanish and Mayan. A few have lived in the US or know English but it is very few.



Today I was out walking north and then took a city bus. I had to get some stuff from Walmart. On the bus I happen to sit next to a guy who had lived in Hollywood for 30 years. We had a wonderful conversation. He loved the American system of fair play and very little graft compared to Mexico.



When I got back I went to a Bistro for breakfast and met Israel. He was born in
Grand HotelGrand HotelGrand Hotel

Stairway
Italy and spent 10 years in San Francisco. His mother is Mexican and his father is Italian. Israel had the cook make me an American breakfast of fried potatoes, eggs, grapefruit juice, coffee and a big plate of fresh fruit. This set me back all of $5.00. I did some wash and then I took the city tour bus. Unfortunately, it was in Spanish and I did not get too much out of it.



I went to supper at this little place my Mexican friend Lois recommended in the morning and had BB ribs, salad, French fries and a beer. The ribs were shaped differently than we cook, but were very good. With a cold beer and a tip it was under $4.00. I am a big spender, but Juanita worked for 40 years to train this cheap son of gun. The cost of the hotel is $38.00 US per night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Grand HotelGrand Hotel
Grand Hotel

Park and Police Officer
Grand HotelGrand Hotel
Grand Hotel

View from the park
Hotel Management TeamHotel Management Team
Hotel Management Team

Grand Hotel Management Team


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb