The Beginning & Mexico


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Chichén Itzá
September 22nd 2008
Published: October 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

My adventure started at Heathrow on 16th of September where it took 5 Check In staff to check me in because they hadn't come across anybody who was planning to spend the night at JFK airport before! The plane journey on Kuwait Airways was uneventful and it was a little strange to be a completely 'dry' plane. The night at JFK was OK - I found a quiet area of the terminal to lie down and managed to get a few hours sleep, I guess the jet lag helped with that.

The next morning I flew with Jet Blue down to Cancun and immediately got a bus down to Playa del Carmen. The resort seemed quiet but I hooked up with a couple of guys from my dorm room and went out with them for a few drinks each night.

From Playa del Carmen, I opted to stay at a town called Piste, near to the Maya site of Chichen Itza, rather than get a day tour. My choice payed off and instead of arriving with hoards of other tourists on buses I was the very first person into the site at 8am, and in fact I was actually queuing to get in! That meant for the first couple of hours I more or less had the place to myself. Nobody else seemed to have done the same thing and despite there only being one hostel in Piste I was the only person staying there.




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1.1mb