La Pesca


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Tamaulipas
March 20th 2011
Published: March 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hoo Boy! I'm into it now!

The officious border crossing business wasn't fun but it went smoothly enough. They weren't busy because there aren't a whole lot of people crossing the border and heading for the interior these days. I found my way out of Matamoros easily and hit the open road on a wing and a prayer.

Driving isn't as hard as I thought it was going to be. I think it's important to yield to the masked army troops manning 50 caliber machine guns mounted on their trucks but that goes without saying. I'd do the same in the USA if it ever happened. I also learned that it's safest to drive on the shoulder. The road is effectively 3 lanes wide in most places so that one can usually pass if the car ahead drives on the shoulder. This being the case, it is expected that all vehicles should yield to passing vehicles by driving on the shoulder. The tricky part is that this rule applies regardless of whether the passing vehicle is traveling in the same or opposite direction. In other words, if there's two vehicles bearing down on you side by side, you had better get over on the shoulder or prepare to meet thy maker. That yellow line in the middle of the road is a waste of paint. It's not hard once you get the hang of it but the occasional difficulty arises when vehicles traveling in opposite directions attempt to pass at the same time. This problem is quickly resolved according to "quien es le plus macho". See also: Rules of Chicken. I have lost every time I have played.

I made it to this seaside resort town known as La Pesca about 3 hours after crossing the border. It's a world away from where I was yesterday. I quickly found a camping spot but I decided to ask around about the security situation before pitching the tent. I made instant friends with 4 locals who recommended a safer spot where I could camp. It's a bit run down because business has been really bad for the past two years. The owner of the campground, Dario, is one of the most interesting persons I have ever met. He speaks good English because he was born in New Orleans. I talked to him and his son for over an hour.

So all is well. If I knew what I was getting myself into, I wouldn't have done this... But I don't mean this in the way that you think. If I knew what I was getting myself into, there would be no point in doing this. It's the unexpected that I seek and this little adventure has already paid big dividends. I couldn't be more pleased that I found my way to this place and I can't waint to see what happens next. Let's just hope that it's all good.

Hasta luego!





Advertisement



21st March 2011

Driving...
Chickens and eggs are a never ending theme!!! Congrats, you've officially carried this legacy to Mexico! Muy Bien!
21st March 2011

Easier than it looks.
This is all well and good, but I don't know if I am impressed just yet. I mean seriously, the Google street view maps are more comprehensive where you are than they are in Greensburg for crying out loud. By the way, you spelled the word "wait" wrong in the second to last sentence in the last paragraph.
22nd March 2011

hey johnny hows the weather down there? hope your enjoying yourself! have fun,be safe,and don't drink the water hehe! see ya when you get back!

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb