Malpasito, Te Amo


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Tabasco » Villahermosa
May 23rd 2017
Published: June 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

My time at Aguaselva is coming to an end and I shed tears for mixed emotions. I'm sad to leave my first Mexican family but I'm excited to see some good friends soon. June will be eventful, as I plan to make my way through a few places I want to see on the way west over the period of a week. I'm evaluating the route for safety, efficiency and destinations. Then at the end of June, I'll fly back to Ohio for not one but TWO weddings. Love love love! Then I have no fucking clue where my life is going, I haven't gotten that far.

I'll miss my best buddy next door who helped me out with getting my car fixed, finding tools, buying weed, learning Spanish, talking to women and so much more, just to be a nice guy. I'll miss his mother, who is the sweetest, most caring matriarch (except for my mom obviously) who fed me for months. She always has a minute to stop and talk with me, even though I usually don't know what she's saying, and even if she's just trying to indoctrinate me into the Jehova's Witness religion/faith/thingy. I'll miss the
Zapatista art in San CristobalZapatista art in San CristobalZapatista art in San Cristobal

We took a couple days off from the jungle life to visit San Cristobal de las Casas
jack-of-all-trades across the river who somehow manages to drive a taxi, maintain a healthy orchard and garden, run a shop that sells food and internet (they bought and installed the antenna in their yard), and always have some kind of random project going. And he's a beekeeper. And he has like four kids. I assume he sleeps at some point. I'll miss my favorite little teenage scamp who never seems to have any obligations, and usually jumps in my car when I drive by, regardless of the time of day or where I'm going. His hobbies include constantly smoking weed and laughing, talking about sex and making lewd gestures, snorting cocaine, and huffing gas and paint thinner. I'll miss all the pretty pretty girls with their tight jeans and red lips, even though I think the rest of the world has more of those. I'll even miss the girl and her mom at the store who always seem to be misanthropic, despondent and lachrymose. They're kind enough to sell me peach nectar, lighters and tomatoes. Malpasito hooked me with her talons, I have so much love for this place and the wonderful people who live here. I will return one day in this blurry and uncertain future.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

more fun with the night settingmore fun with the night setting
more fun with the night setting

San Cristobal from above


Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0165s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb