The Jungle Life Continues


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Tabasco » Villahermosa
May 1st 2017
Published: June 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

There are many different levels of familiarity and different slang personal pronouns to reflect it: amigo, compa, we, cabron, vato, seniora, pinche, dingus. I love the use of the suffix -ita/-ito, which refers to small things and cute things. You hear seniorita but never seniorito. Because girls are cute. Malpasito is a small village next to nearby Malpaso. You can order a chela, or a chelita, if you want to be cute about it. At least that's my interpretation.

Phrases like, "I give up," "does that ring a bell?" "cold shoulder," and, "I'll look after you," come to mind when I'm thinking of linguistic and idiomatic silliness. I now notice some grammatical errors that my translator app makes, which means I'M IMPROVING 😊 This is very rewarding.

Let's talk about the weather. Still hot as shit. Also can we talk about the jeans? I still can't wrap my head around how many people wear jeans here. Sometimes midday, when it's 3 billion degrees and I have trouble walking away from the fan whilst standing right in front of ass naked, some of these guys are out in the sun working the fields with machetes. In bloody jeans.

Throughout my life, I've fluctuated in my willingness to say, "I love you" to someone (family not included, I tell them I love them all the time). When I was a little nino, I thought true love was a ubiquitous thing that just happened, and boys and girls simply fell in love and that was it. After my first 1-20 girlfriends (I can't remember exactly), the phrase frightened me off and I avoided using it, due to emotional repercussions. Then I realized over the past few years that you can say it to someone you genuinely love, but aren't necessarily going to be marrying or fucking any time soon, or ever. There appears this spectrum between the friendly and the romantic. I say it to some people and you know who you are <3 Love is an esoteric, perplexing, and extremely influential little fucking thing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0185s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb