Pescado


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Tabasco » Villahermosa
April 20th 2017
Published: April 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

"Look what a terrible mess that we've made,

The sun beats us down as we search for the shade,

Yes it is true death is everyone's fate,

But we've made it this far, it's time to celebrate."

-Zero 7

It's almost worth getting a sunburn on your whole back to roll around in a hammock when the burn is itchy and mostly healed. The satisfaction is otherworldly. Como se dice "backgasm?" If I'd known before now that, in the same day, I'd paddle out into a lake on a longboat and spearfish for dinner with the hombres, as well as play harmonica and guitar with the local children AND do handstands and yoga with them AND paint with them, then I'd... ummmm... probably be like... uhhh... "I'm looking forward to this day."

I've brought the following material items on this endeavor: my body, my car, my bicycle (which got stolen the very first night in Monterrey because I'm an ass and slept in my car in a random neighborhood), enough clothes for 5-23 days depending on your lifestyle, guitar, laptop/tablet/phone (still inextricably linked to the modern world), scuba gear obviously, sleeping bag/yoga mat/tent/portable stove, basic electrical and mechanical tools, extra toiletries, and a DREAM as big as Greenland! Ok the last one wasn't material. This is the right amount of stuff to comfortably fit in Ole Mae with two passengers.

"Ahorita" is my new favorite word because to me it represents how people perceive time a bit differently to what I'm used to. It's like saying, "just a second," or "hang on," or "soon," and the actual corresponding timeframe is anywhere from a half second to a half hour. People certainly work hard here, but it's a different attitude. There don't seem to be any deadlines. We almost never ask "Que hora es?"


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb