You For Me and Me For You


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Sinaloa » Mazatlan
January 27th 2015
Published: January 27th 2015
Edit Blog Post

As told through my daughter:

I was too young to see the obvious differences in our lives, but old enough to know how I felt about her. I loved when my mom brought me to play at Janeth's house. Her house was so different than mine and that made it exciting and fun; an adventure.

Janeth's house always smelled so good. Her mom would be busy in the kitchen making tortillas, mashing avocados, slicing onions and cilantro. It was the most delicious Mexican food I'd ever eaten. I loved her tiny bedroom, just big enough to hold her bed, dresser and a window with a sun-catcher of a butterfly dangling. There was a hole in the wall, big enough to peek my head through and see into her brother's room. Janeth and her brother would shout rapid-fire Spanish at each other through that hole. How fun to be able to pester her brother, I thought.

I was only eight but I knew I loved Janeth. I'd heard girls at school talk about having a best friend. “Janeth must be my best friend,” I thought. “I know she's my favorite friend...so that must make her my best friend.” It felt good having a best friend.

I never imaged our days of helado (ice cream), nadando (swimming) or her mom's homemade tortillas would ever end. But it did. And for the first time I felt what must be...heart break.

Janeth told me she had to go back to Mexico. Her grandmother in Mazatlan was very ill and her parents were the only ones who could care for her. “Well, once your abuela is better, then you can come back, right?” I asked.

My best friend's eyes got all red and teary. “No, Indy, I can't come back,” she told me. “Once we cross the border into Mexico, we have to stay. My parents...you see...we're not suppose to be here, in the United States. Mis padres (my parents) snuck across the border a long time ago, before I was born, so they could live in America. It was dangerous, but they did it. They wanted a better life for their kids. But once we go back, we have to stay. We can't come back.”

A few weeks later, my friend was gone. My best friend. We promised we'd keep in touch. We'd write letters, Skype on the computer, send emails. But Janeth disappeared. I'd write letters and get no response. I'd send emails and wait for a reply. Nothing.

I felt a hollowness in my heart. I had made a friend that couldn't be replaced. It was as if she'd evaporated off the face of the planet.

Three years went by. Only silence from my friend. I would feel a twinge of pain when I thought of her, heard a song that we both liked, or worse yet, heard news that life in Mexico was getting very dangerous.

One day, mom picked me up from school to go to the dentist. After the appointment, she asked me a very important question.

“How would you like to go to Mexico?” she asked. My heart rose. I always loved going on trips. Then I remembered. I had a best friend in Mexico. But I didn't say anything. Just waited for mom to finish her sentence. “I've done some searching, Indy, and I am pretty sure I've found Janeth! She lives in Mazatlan and we might go to see her. I mean, only if you want to.” It took me a moment to process what my mom had just said. Finally, I stated the obvious. “Yes!” Of course I wanted to see my long-lost best friend again after being apart for three and a half years. Then I thought of the worst. “But what if she doesn't want to see me? What if she doesn't remember me? What if--”

Mom cut me off. “What if? What if? What do you mean if she doesn't remember me? Of course she'll remember you! You were best friends! She let you cry in her lap when you were scared on the Ferris Wheel in Navy Pier!” Then came the tears. I started crying, not caring that my brother was in the back seat, I just hoped that when we visited her, she would remember me.

I arrived with my mother in Mazatlan in November 2014, exactly three years since I'd last seen my friend.

Janeth stood there, at the airport arrivals gate, with her parents. When we caught sight of each other, we smiled then awkwardly starred at the floor. It wasn't the tearful embrace I was expecting. I felt overwhelmed. I'd waited so long to see my friend but when I finally had her in front of me, I fell silent. She looked different. I recognized her, of course, but she was taller, older. It wasn't long though, and the familiar warmth of her company melted away any apprehension I felt.

Janeth was able to show me her new home; a sturdy house her dad had built himself, brick by brick. She had a chicken coup right outside her bedroom with a playful rooster that freely ran through the kitchen. Her mom made tortillas and smashed avocado and sliced onion and cilantro just like she had in the States.

She took me on long walks on dusty roads to see her school, her friends and her favorite place to buy a cold Coke. Once again we were “nadando” (swimming) and eating “helado” (ice cream) together. At night we stayed up laughing, watching Disney movies in Spanish or making fun of our brothers. It was as if nothing had changed. Janeth was the same girl I met all those years ago.

After a week in Mexico I had to return to home. It was painful leaving my friend. We're separated by laws and borders but I knew it wasn't the end. In Janeth I had found real enduring friendship, a kindred spirit, a soul sister so they say.

My mom says true friends are hard to find, so when you find one, consider yourself very fortunate. And never let go.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



28th January 2015

Heartwarming Lessons
I'm so glad that India got to reunite with her friend. She is learning many of life's hardest lessons at an early age, but doing so and having this experience will serve her well later on. It's also a lesson on what a committed, caring parent can accomplish --- where there is a will, there is a way! Best wishes to a wonderful family (or should I say two wonderful families?) Edwina
28th January 2015

Happy story happy ending
I love that you narrated this adventure through Indy's eyes. I can just imagine how thrilled she was when you told her about the trip!! Hope the girls are able to stay in touch, true friends ARE hard to find :)
28th January 2015

Nothing is more educational than travel. What a sweet heartwarming story. How nice these girls were able to reconnect. I hope that connection remains throughout their lives..
28th January 2015

back story
This is a wonderful back story to the pictures I enjoyed while you two were in mexico. Thank you!
28th January 2015

heartfelt story
What a beautiful story, very well told and so heartwarming.
29th January 2015

I was just looking through the list of those I Follow...
and I saw your picture and wondered why you hadn't blogged for so long. I missed your blogs are they are so special. And then you posted this great blog! Thanks.
29th January 2015

It's nice to be missed
Currently in Australia....so hopefully more blogs to follow...
30th January 2015
Indy and Janeth

Friends forever!
What a fantastic story of love, love lost and love found again! It seems you're giving Indy gifts of travel, and the truths that anything is possible, and that real friendships transcend time! Excellent!
30th January 2015

Great story great mom
How wonderful! I'm sure they will remain lifelong friends!
31st January 2015

Never let go
I'm touched but the beauty and emotion of this blog. Thank you for sharing something so personal and wonderful. The lump in my throat continues to quiver as I wipe away a tear of joy. True friendship found and not lost. Life is good. Your mother is an amazing woman to have taken you on this trip. Life is to be treasured and experienced.
3rd February 2015

Wow. You really captured how fragile friendships can be . . . and, at the same time, so strong to withstand the tide of time and distance -- what an amazing friendship the girls have! And, behind the scenes, there's that amazing mother's love catalyzing the reunion. Marvelous story. Thank you~~
12th February 2015

What a beautiful story. I hope you never lost your best friend!!?

Tot: 0.316s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 32; qc: 125; dbt: 0.1349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb