Postcard from Mexico!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Tulum
July 10th 2006
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mexico boarderMexico boarderMexico boarder

This is the pen the customs official gave me to fill out the immigration form - what a joke!
Hi guys...

Well, the last few days have felt like weeks! It's been fantastic to be back on the beach again, and the Caribbean at that! My first glimpse of the beach - GORGEOUS! I've never seen water so gorgeously blue, and sand so beautifully white!!

I met a Finnish girl at the hostel, and we decided to spend a night in a cabana on the beach - it was great!! For only $6.50 each, we even had a window with an ocean view!! We also had a great night out at the bar on the beach (complete with swings! 😊))) ), and a mexican guy introduced us to all the mexican cocktails! Just hoping they delete the pictures and videos of our butts from when we danced on the bar!!! After the bar closed, we had a nice midnight (or a bit later 😉 ) swim in the beautifully warm ocean, not to mention when we woke the next morning... heavenly!

Yesterday we caught a bus to Playa del Carmen, an hour away. Tourist city!! It reminded me a lot of the gold coast with its huge shopping street, but the beach was very much the Caribbean,
TulumTulumTulum

Our hostel in Tulum - The Weary Traveller
and packed with people... We watched the finals France vs. Italy, and we sure did know who won with all the celebrations afterward! I didn't see that much of the game though as I still have this stomache wog - 5 days later! I have just started on a three day cure-all tablet which I'm hoping will get rid of it so I can start eating something other than chicken soup and rice!!

So, last night I was supposed to be on a night bus to Palenque, but as I was sitting in the bus chatting to the Brissy girl beside me, I suddenly realised I'd left my passeport at the hostel reception!!!! DAMN!!!! I jumped off the bus with my bags, and walked back to the hostel, forfeiting my ticket. Luckily they had a place on tonight's bus as my flight out from Mexico city is 13 July, 3 days away!

Looking fwd to heading to Europe and seeing everyone back in Geneva! It will be nice to be in a country where the food doesn't make you sick!!

Take care & enjoy the summer (or the respite of winter in the sthn hem!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

TulumTulum
Tulum

My first view of the Caribbean!!
TulumTulum
Tulum

Rica and I chilling (or rather warming!) on the beach...
TulumTulum
Tulum

Rica and I on the beach...
TulumTulum
Tulum

Swings in the bar on the beach...
TulumTulum
Tulum

Rica and I at the mayan ruins on the beach!
TulumTulum
Tulum

Mayan ruins - nice view!
TulumTulum
Tulum

Rica and I at the Mayan ruins
TulumTulum
Tulum

Mayan ruins
TulumTulum
Tulum

Mayan ruins
TulumTulum
Tulum

Iguanas by the dozens at the Mayan ruins
TulumTulum
Tulum

Our cabana on the beach!
TulumTulum
Tulum

Our cabana on the beach
TulumTulum
Tulum

View out the window of our cabana on the beach!
TulumTulum
Tulum

View out the window of our cabana on the beach!
TulumTulum
Tulum

Making friends with the Marines!
Playa del CarmenPlaya del Carmen
Playa del Carmen

Italy won the cup...


19th July 2006

HAPPY BIRTHDAY
Hi Cathy Hope you have a wonderful birthday and get to celebrate in style. Where will u be I wonder...India? Love the pics and updates but don't know where you get the energy or the time to fit in all the things you do. Looking trim, taut and terrific too - just don't fade away :) love claudia

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb