Tulum Is Where Da Party's At


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Tulum
September 16th 2008
Published: September 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
CelebrationCelebrationCelebration

Mexican dancers.
The town of Tulum itself is not very pretty, but it is lively. It's got several restaurants and shops lined up all along the town's main avenue, with a few bars too. People walk up and down the avenue to check out the shops, eat on tables set up by the sidewalk, others chill at open-air bars. The town has a good ambiance. I got to celebrate Mexico's Independence Day with real Mexicans! They had a festival where performers danced and sang. There were stands with food...sabroso! These folks know how to par-tey . After the festival, I headed to a local bar where there was a rock band playing. They were cool. People were all dancing and sort of half-ass moshing. Regardless, it was fun.

The caribbean beaches in Tulum are awesome! I've never felt sand that soft. It felt like powdered sugar. The only bad thing about it is that is stuck everywhere! Did you ever see the Seinfeld episode where Kramer was always hanging out at the beach and ended up accumulating sand in his shirt pocket? He was in Jerry's apartment cleaning out the sand and some of it went into his eye and he fell and jerked wildly. Same thing sort of happened to me except I didn't fall.

I also got to check out the ruins in Tulum. They're located right on the caribbean coastline. Although the structures aren't as impressive as Palenque or Chichen Itza, they were still very cool to check out since they're on the coast. Now, I'm going to rant for a little bit here. Since I've been doggin' American tourists in my last entries, I think it's time I dog the Euros (Mostly the French. UK'ers, you're cool). First of all, they're EVERYWHERE! I'm not talking 2 or 3 here and there, I'm talking hundreds. I came to hang out with Mexicans, not Euros! Who the hell travels in the middle of September?! Anyway, they didn't make my experience at the ruins pleasurable. Whenever I tried to take a photo or read the informational tablets about certain Mayan structures, they kept getting in my way....very rudely. I guess it stems from staying in hostels and coming across nothing but French Euros. Fact about French boys: they stink, they're unsanitary, and they lack respect when it comes to giving one space. Now don't get me wrong, I know not
FansFansFans

The crowd dancin'.
all French are like that. I've met a few that have been cool. Different cultures I guess. I'm not used to them. Maybe I'm just really homesick. Don't be surprised if I strangle one before I leave Mexico. (Sigh) Ok, I feel better.

Anyway, enough about murdering smelly Euros. I'm now headed into a more east central part of Mexico, the city of Veracruz. I've read that it's a cool city that always has stuff going on. Cool cool.....lookin' forward to that.

Cheers bloody mates!
alex


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

PerformersPerformers
Performers

The performers from the festival decided to do an encore at the bar.
TulumTulum
Tulum

Vamos a la playa.
RuinsRuins
Ruins

Tulum ruins by the coast.
Tulum RuinsTulum Ruins
Tulum Ruins

Temple of the coast.


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb