First Days in Playa


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Playa del Carmen
November 21st 2007
Published: November 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

The first night in Mexico was definitely an interesting one. After missing the bus from Cancun to Playa, I took one of the famous crazy Mexican cabs. We made it to Playa, two hours later, and I got checked into my hostel.

There was only one other person in the dorm, a guy named Ben. He immediately put my travel experience to shame by telling me about the 100 countries he had visited in North and South America, Africa, Europe, and Asia. He was from Perth, Australia so hes got about every contintent covered. He had been away for 2 years traveling, which is way too long for my taste. He ended up in the hostel I had chosen because he had to leave the last one in Playa at 2AM because of hundreds of bed bugs.

We went down to meet his friend Brian, who ended up being from Minnesota. We discussed how bad our football teams are, and then he told me that he had travelled to over 100 countries as well. I am the rookie. The last part of the group for the night was 5 guys from Holland who were pretty crazy. One of them went home with a girl, and as of right now (2PM) he is still AWOL. These guys were fun though because they insisted on paying for all the beers, and I didnt stop them.

Unfortunately today it is raining. Ben and I walked some of the markets, and had some shopkeeper yell ´hey Cheech and Chong, come buy some tobacco mi amigos¨. Not sure what that was about. There is a Walmart that sells everything for cheap, like top shelf tequilla for $10 American. I had some quesadillas at a taqueria for $2.5 American today, cant beat that.

Im hoping to go take a look at my language school today, and hopefully visit the beach if the rain stops. I wont be able to add pictures because of some problems with the computers here, and I wont be able to update as often as I wanted to because the people who tend the hostel seem to use the internet for themselves instead of the guests. Only in Mexico.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb