Fun at the hostel


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Isla Mujeres
May 24th 2006
Published: May 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I arrived at the airport in Cancun at around 12:30 local time. I was easily able to use the ATM to get money and I had no problems getting a bus to downtown Cancun to the bus station, where I caught a local bus to Puerto Juarez, where I took a ferry to Isla Mujeres.

Isla Mujeres seems like sort of a typical Mexican tourist town, with shops selling beach stuff and supposedly authentic artifacts. I was able to get a cheap meal for around 25 pesos and had a nice conversation with the woman that ran the restaurant.

I checked into the hostel and promptly slept for a couple of hours, as I had gotten only two or three hours of sleep the night before. When I woke up, there was salsa music playing in the main area and there were plenty of people drinking beers, dancing, and having a good time. I met people from the states, South Africa, Norway, Canada, and Australia over the course of the night. I met a couple of Americans that work for US Airways and I am traveling with them today to Chichen Itza.

It was a good day yesterday, even though I was not able to get to the beach because I realized that I had forgotten my flip-flops at home. I have also forgotten the USB cable for my camera, so I am at this point unable to download pictures to a computer from my camera. Hopefully at some point along the way I will be able to find a cable to upload pictures to this blog, but my camera luckily has plenty of storage, enough to last me a couple of weeks at least.

Advertisement



24th May 2006

Sounds like you are off to a wonderful start, i made it home in one piece and all the moving stuff was taken care of to the point it had to be....now to take care of other stuff....like laying in the sun and playing with my dog!:) hope all is well!!*hug*megs
25th May 2006

Still here...
Hola miel. I am still here! Still reading your blogs, and staying updated with with your life and the latest. Sounds like Cozumel wasn't the place to be; glad you've found your "home" at IsDeMujeres. Oh, guess what?! Bloc Party is playing in Berkeley on August 3 at the Greek?!!!! Could be worth a trip to the Bay Area... Bye for now. Ito.

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb