A Crew Tour of Twisted Passion . . .


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cozumel
April 18th 2009
Published: May 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today we’re back in Cozumel and I was so excited because we had a crew tour on offer! Cozumel is such a great port but as a crew member it’s usually spent either taking advantage of the places with wireless internet or partying. For far too long I didn’t see anything beyond the shops and bars in Cozumel. I tend to feel pretty proud of myself when I actually get out and do something in this port. Then when it’s something offered with fellow crew, it’s especially exciting because you get the sight-seeing plus the social aspect!

Near the island of Cozumel is another small island called Isla Pasion. There are a few different excursions on offer to go and enjoy the island for the day. Our tour took us there by Twister! Twister is an incredibly fast motor boat. One that is fast enough you have to be strapped into your seats. Once we left the cruise traffic area, we really flew! We sped along the water, literally catching air as we went over the waves. Then our driver started doing zig-zags along the water which had us whipping back and forth. It was so incredibly fun. After we’d left the main part of Cozumel, we approached Isla Pasion. And in the calm waters beside the island we had some real fun on the Twister - we’d catch some intense speed, zig zag a bit, then spin in a complete 360-degree turn which would send the water flying up in the air only to come down and soak us all! We laughed and screamed and just had so much fun.

Then came relaxation time on the island. There was a buffet set up for us and the food was great. Then there was open bar. Of course this meant quite the party for most people. I’m not feeling very well today though; I think all of the insanity of the last month or so is catching up with me and my immune system is down because I can feel something coming on. So I elected to just sort of remove myself from the revelry of the rest of the crew and just take a quiet afternoon. I pulled a beach chair up to the water’s edge and laid out in the sun with my book. Read about a third of it just this afternoon! Towards the end of the afternoon, the wind picked up and the sand blowing into my face and book got to be too much for me, so I moved into the shade and hung around in a hammock for awhile.

When it was time to head back, we were all strapped back in on the Twister for another ride. We were actually short one seat because the tour was overbooked, so one crew member had to sit in one of the two driver’s seat. This meant that John, the crew member in the bucket seat, got to co-steer our boat. This led to hilarious events. We did so many 360 spins I lost count. This time I sat up front and took photos and videos almost the entire time. Oh my goodness the videos are so funny! Eventually we had to start heading back towards the cruise pier, but we did as many tricks along the way as we were allowed to without getting in trouble from the coast guard!

Today was such a perfect day. I got to see something new. I got to have an adventure on the Twister boat. I got to just relax and take it easy on the beach all afternoon. By the time we got back, I was even starting to feel a bit better. I’m hoping all of that is just what I needed to turn my health around and get me through these last couple of busy cruises!



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Putting The Feet UpPutting The Feet Up
Putting The Feet Up

Now that spring break is reaching it's end - this is deserved!
Me & DiegoMe & Diego
Me & Diego

The photos do not capture just how fast we're going!
Attempted PhotoAttempted Photo
Attempted Photo

This is a shipwreck. I tried to take a photo. It is a great challenge.
Another Attempted PhotoAnother Attempted Photo
Another Attempted Photo

The sun on the water was pretty. I tried to get a photo. Still a challenge.


4th May 2009

sounds like quite the adventure! There's no risk of swine flu in the areas you guys are visiting I am assuming. Has there been much disturbance to ship life with the recent craziness?! Stay safe!

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb