Zipping and Swimming in Cozumel with the Teens . . .


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cozumel
April 4th 2009
Published: May 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Spring break is still upon me here on the ship. 300 teens - and my participation rates have been around 80% so I am intensely busy. Which also means, of course, teen tours are still running. Today in Cozumel, I ran my third teen tour in the last 10 days!

I took a group of five teens to the adventure park for an afternoon of high ropes and snorkeling. The group was really fun; we enjoyed the day greatly.

For the first half of our tour, we were suited up in safety gear. There was a whole team of guides working from the ground at belaying everyone up in the high ropes course. Watching them work made me reminisce of my fall working at the leadership training centre back home when I’d spend all day out in the forest tied to people walking on wires from tree to tree and jumping off of telephone poles. I’d love to do more high ropes work again, especially now that I’m so much more comfortable being up high!

We all took turns doing the full course. I’m amazed at how easily these things come to me now! Sure, there is still
Above the TreesAbove the TreesAbove the Trees

My Favourite Shot of the Day
physical work involved, but that is now my main focus rather than the fear of being up on the wires and ropes! I rock climbed to the top of one of the towers and was amazed at how easily that came to me. I remember not being able to get more than a couple feet up on the leadership centre, only few years ago. Then there were ropes, a broken bridge and a zip line. You could also repel from the top of the highest climbing tower, but I was trying to get lots of photos of the teens so I was at the very end of the group and I didn’t bother wasting everyone else’s time, so I skipped that.

Then we moved on to snorkeling. The snorkeling was pretty good. Lots and lots of fish. We saw a leopard ray too which was pretty cool. But I was more fascinated by the current. I have never snorkeled or scuba-ed in such a strong current before! We had to purposely start at one end of the resort’s property and let ourselves be carried to the far end. I spent most of the time pre-occupied with playing with the movement of the water. And trying to get some more good photos of course. I never tire of playing with my waterproof camera.

By the time we finished snorkeling, the sun was getting low in the sky. We showered off, enjoyed our complimentary beverages (and again I looked longingly at the bar while I sat with my teens) and then climbed in the car to head back to the pier.

This was another new tour for me which was nice. It’s definitely a fun tour and I’ll continue to offer it as part of my program. But I’m feeling the exhaustion of trying to keep up with hundreds of teens and I look forward to a few weeks from now when it quiets down and I can have some more time to myself.



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0972s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb